Home » Workouts » What 5 AM Looks Like

What 5 AM Looks Like

This morning my alarm went off at 4:50 AM and I got up and headed to the gym. People tell me all the time how crazy I am that I can get up at 5:00 that easily. Let me tell you a secret: it’s not easy!! In fact, it’s really….really hard. If it were easy, everyone would do it. I have to tell myself that every time I want to make excuses for skipping an early workout. There are a few things I do to make it easier to get up in the morning that have worked for me:

  1. I set my gym clothes and other necessities out the night before.
  2. I drink lots of water before bed. I know it sounds really weird, but if I have to get up to go to the bathroom anyway, I may as well stay up and go to the gym! Please note, this may only work for me. If you try this and end up running to the bathroom all night, I apologize.
  3. Before I fall asleep, I picture what workout I’m going to do in the morning. Having a concrete plan in mind helps me get up and moving.
  4. Visualize your morning after working out. Picturing myself going about my morning feeling refreshed and strong reminds me how good I feel after working out first thing.
  5. Finally, start slow. People I know who go all out and work out early for 7 straight days rarely go back for week #2. Start off with 1-2 early days a week for a while until it starts to feel good.

Image

It’s especially difficult in the winter, when it’s pitch black and my car is completely frozen over. I do actually start to think I’m crazy in January. This time of year, however, it’s not too bad! There’s some light peeking out and the birds are chirping when I leave my house. It feels like I’m actually supposed to be awake.

Image

Even though it’s not easy to get up early, it’s definitely worth it! When I got to the gym, I hopped on the AMT machine for a 35 minute cardio workout. After working up a good sweat I headed over to the weights area to work my arms and shoulders. I did the following exercises:

  • Bicep curls (full)
  • Bicep curls (bottom half & top half)
  • Tricep dips
  • Seated row
  • Chest press
  • Overhead shoulder press

It took me about 15 minutes to do 2-3 sets of 15. My arms are a lot weaker than my legs so I’m making it my goal to work them more this summer.

After coming home to shower, I made myself a quick breakfast.

ImageI had a scrambled egg with fat-free feta cheese, a 100-calorie sandwich thin, a banana, and a glass of unsweetened vanilla almond milk. It was super tasty!

Lunch today got scarfed down before I could take a picture, but I had a roast beef and provolone sandwich with some honey Greek yogurt.

Enjoy the rest of your Thursday!

3 thoughts on “What 5 AM Looks Like

  1. Just found your blog! I’m glad you mentioned that’s NOT easy to get up at 5am! I get so discouraged sometimes because it feels like everyone makes it LOOK super easy, but I’ve never been able to make myself get up! Until now, I’m going to HAVE to start running in the mornings I think! This afternoon heat is killer, and will a fall half marathon coming up, I am not loving the idea of running after work when it’s extra hot 🙂 I think laying out your clothes is an excellent idea, I will have to remember that! I think my main problem would be making myself go to bed a little earlier so I still get enough sleep! Haven’t implemented this new goal yet, but one day soon it’s going to be early morning workout time!

  2. Pingback: Favorite Workout Music | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

