Home » Food & Recipes » Healthy Staples

Healthy Staples

Happy Monday!I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend. I spent yesterday afternoon at my parents house hanging out with my family, which was so much fun. Last night I had leftovers and, despite my better judgement, watched the season premiere of True Blood. I’ve tried to get into it since I know so many people who are fans, but it’s just not working for me!

Workout & Breakfast

Today was an early day at work, so my alarm went off at 4:30 a.m. It was rough getting started, but once I got to the gym I had the whole place to myself! Perks of being the third person to show up in the morning. I started off with 35 minutes on the Adaptive Motion Trainer, followed by 10-15 minutes of arm exercises like bicep curls, shoulder presses and tricep dips. It wasn’t the most exciting workout, but I worked up a good sweat.

Breakfast today was scrambled eggs with wheat toast and a glass of almond milk.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

I don’t like plain eggs so I typically dress them up. Today I mixed in some spinach, tomato, and fat-free feta cheese. Adding in some healthy extras can make eggs a lot more interesting!

Healthy Staples

In order to get a healthy meal together without a lot of planning, I like to keep certain staples in my house to keep things easy. On any given day you can usually find the following items in my kitchen:

  • Fresh spinach– I put this in everything from eggs to smoothies
  • Bananas
  • Eggs
  • Feta Cheese– Usually fat-free or reduced-fat.
  • Tomatoes
  • Frozen fruit– It can be pretty pricey, but it’s worth the money!
  • Greek yogurt
  • Grilled chicken strips– usually from Trader Joe’s and kept in the freezer. These make quick and easy stir-fry, salad, etc.
  • Spaghetti squash– I’ve had trouble finding them in my local stores lately, but I love this food! I treat it just like pasta and have several different ways I’ll make it.
  • Protein powder– I like GNC flavors the best
  • Almond milk– I buy unsweetened vanilla. Since I started drinking almond milk I don’t even buy the regular kind any more!
  • Quinoa
  • Condiments and spices to add flavor without calories. My favorites are red pepper flakes, Greek seasoning, and Sriracha.

What are your pantry/fridge staples?

One thought on “Healthy Staples

Leave a Reply

