Home » Food & Recipes » Healthier Takeout Lunches

Healthier Takeout Lunches

It’s been a busy 24 hours! I had lots to catch up on, including sleep, so today I “slept in” until 6:30. It sounds so sad to know that 6:30 a.m. is sleeping in, but either way it felt amazing.

Breakfast

Breakfast today was a classic of mine: peanut butter toast with banana slices on top.

ImageImage

 

I went through a phase where I ate an English muffin topped with peanut butter and banana every day for months. I couldn’t get enough of it! I vary my breakfast a lot more now, but it’s nice to return to a favorite every now and then.

Work and Lunch

Since we moved to our new building a lot of people in my office have been bringing their dogs to work. Someone brought in this little cutie and I literally couldn’t stand how adorable he was!

Image

 

I wanted to take him home with me, but I’m pretty sure someone else would not be happy with that…….

Image

 

She’s a jealous little old lady puppy.

I had a craving for Moe’s Southwest Grill today so I got myself a burrito bowl with chicken, black beans, and rice.

Image

 

I have to have options for lunch since I work in an office. I can’t go home to cook anything and sometimes I’m running too late to prepare something before I leave. I pack a lunch when I can, but I also have a few go-to options from restaurants. My favorites for eating healthy on the go are:

  • Moe’s burrito bowl- By skipping the tortilla, chips, and cheese dip and piling on veggies, I can get a good meal for under 300 calories.
  • Subway- I usually pick something along the turkey/wheat/avocado variety and skip the chips.
  • Panera- I have an obsession with this place. The managers know me by name! Panera lists calories on the menu so it’s really easy to make healthier choices. Right now I love the Strawberry Poppyseed & Chicken Salad.
  •  Asian restaurants- I usually order chicken and broccoli with brown or steamed rice. I take half in a to-go box so I can get two meals out of it.

What are your favorite ways to be healthy while eating out?

 

4 thoughts on “Healthier Takeout Lunches

  1. It’s crazy that sleeping in until 6:30 is “sleeping in!” When did we get so old! That puppy is adorable!!!! BAH!! We actually went to Moe’s last night after the climbing gym and it was de-licious. However, we indulged in burritos and ate every single bite 🙂 Good call on skipping the chips and queso, MUCH healthier for sure!!

  2. Ah you’re so lucky you get take pups to work! I want to work in your office! That’s soo cute. I eat out for lunch way more often than i should, although i’ve been doing better recently i still pick something up like once or twice a week. my favorite right now is pret-a-manger, their salads are really good and filling! (which is how i like my salads 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

