Home » Daily food & workouts » Friday Survey

Friday Survey

It’s finally Friday!! This week was busy at work, but seemed to drag on. Well, now we’ve finally gotten to the weekend and I can live in yoga pants for the next 48 hours. YES.

Sitting down to write today, I realized that nothing exciting happened today. Unless you count getting Froyo this afternoon and checking a new book out of the library (yes, I’m a nerd, don’t judge me), today was a pretty standard work day.

Since I was lacking inspiration, I decided to fill out a survey I saw over at Julie’s blog, Peanut Butter Fingers (a favorite of mine!). So here goes!

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

I had some cereal topped with a banana and almond milk.

Image

2. How much water do you drink a day?

I’m not really sure. I used to be the queen of Diet Cokes (I kept a mini fridge in my office for them), but I eventually gave up soda drinking for the most part. I have a Bobble water bottle, so I usually go through a couple bottles a day. I love that it filters the water as I drink it, so I can fill it up anywhere.

3. What is your current favorite workout?

I actually feel like I’m kind of in a rut right now with my workouts. I do like to do the Nike Training Club workouts after some cardio.

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

Depending on my activity level, I usually end up anywhere between 1,400 and 2,000. I do track my calories using My Fitness Pal. I’ve been using the site for almost 2 years now it’s just kind of second nature now. Even though I log my food, I don’t obsess over the calories! It just helps me stay aware of serving sizes and also helps me to make sure I’m getting enough protein, fiber, potassium, etc.

There are two exceptions to my logging: Thanksgiving and Super Bowl Sunday. All bets are off on those days!

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

I have a lot! I love bananas, Greek yogurt, and mixed nuts.

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

It really varies. My usual choices are sandwiches, salads from Panera, leftovers, or pasta.

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?

Legs! I love squats and lunges.

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

Arms…ugh. I’m a beast doing squats, then I pick up my little 10-pounders to do some bicep curls. It’s embarrassing.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?

I don’t like to label things as “bad”. I prefer “eat sparingly”. Pizza tops my list though. And brownies. I like homemade, full of butter, chocolatey goodness. No gluten-free, substitute-apple sauce-desserts for me!

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

I take gummy vitamins. It’s the only way I’ll eat them.

11. How often do you eat out?

Probably 2-4 times a week.

12. Do you eat fast food?

Nope. I once learned that a grilled chicken sandwich (seemingly healthy…) at usual fast food restaurants had over 85 ingredients! My only exception is Chik-fil-a chicken minis, because those are truly amazing.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

Definitely my husband, Riley. And my mom 🙂

14. Do you have a gym membership?

Yes! Technically, I have two, since it’s free to use the gym at the college I work at. I don’t like to be a sweaty mess in front of co-workers and hot 20-year olds, however, so I work out closer to home.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

Usually 7-8

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?

Eh, not really. I indulge in small doses whenever I feel like it, but I don’t really have whole days where I just go hog-wild and stuff my face. Exceptions- see “non-logging days” listed above.

17. Do you drink alcohol?

I’m drinking right now. So yes. I don’t really drink beer or liquor, but I love red wine!

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

Sadly, no. I’ve tried running with Bella and it doesn’t turn out well. She’s old, poor thing.

Image

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?

I’ve always been pretty healthy and I danced for most of my life and through college. I never really used a gym, however, until after college. I couldn’t afford dance classes and I realized I needed to find new ways to stay in shape if I didn’t want to go downhill.

The best part about living a healthy lifestyle is how good I feel. I love the energy I have and how my mood can be totally changed just from working up a sweat!

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

I went to the gym this morning. I got in 20 minutes of cardio, and 25 minutes of squats, lunges, push-ups, kettle-bell swings, and more.

Well, that’s it for now! Coco’s been awkwardly purring and staring at me while I finish, so it’s time to go give the little cutie some attention.

Image

Have a fantastic weekend!!

Do you count calories or log your food/workouts?

What counts as “cheat” food for you?

4 thoughts on “Friday Survey

  1. I write down all of my workouts in a book just so I can keep track of what weights I’m at etc. I recently just gave up calorie counting a few weeks ago as I was really over tracking and was probably getting a bit too obsessed with weighing things out etc but it did work for me for a long time and it can be a great tool if you aren’t someone who gets too focussed on it.

    I love brownies too yum!

    Your cat and dog are too cute!

    I also used to be addicted to diet coke and well diet soda in general. I luckily kicked the habit and now mainly drink water (and wine!!)

Leave a Reply

