Home » Food & Recipes » Chicken Sausage Breakfast Casserole

Chicken Sausage Breakfast Casserole

I’ve enjoyed everything about this weekend so far! I love not having any major plans or obligations going into the weekend. I spend so much of my weekday planning every minute, so I’m so happy when I get to just relax.

Normally, Riley makes us Saturday breakfast, but yesterday was my turn! Since I’m such a fan of breakfast casserole, that’s what I decided to make. My favorite thing about breakfast casserole is that there’s no exact science to it. You can use whatever veggies you have on hand and make it different every time. I normally use crescent rolls as the base for my casserole, but all I had on hand was biscuit dough. It was a really nice change! I’m definitely saving this recipe for future use.

Here’s what I did:

casserole collage

Chicken Sausage Breakfast Casserole

  • 1 Can biscuit dough
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 package cooked chicken sausage. I used Trader Joe’s jalapeno chicken sausage.
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • ½ cup fresh kale, chopped
  • ¼ cup light sour cream
  • Feta cheese, crumbled
  • Salt & pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 400. Spray a 9×13 inch casserole dish with cooking spray. Split the biscuits in half and line the casserole dish with the halves until covered. You may have extra biscuits left, depending on the size of your casserole dish.

Sautee vegetables over medium heat in butter or olive oil, until the vegetables are soft.  Add the chicken sausage and heat through. Add the spinach and kale and cook until slightly wilted.

Meanwhile, beat 6 eggs with a fork and add the sour cream. Season with salt and pepper.

Pour the veggie/sausage mixture over the biscuit dough, making sure to spread mixture evenly. Pour the egg mixture of the top. Add feta cheese crumbles to the top of the mixture and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until eggs are set.

Enjoy!

IMG_1113

IMG_1112

It was seriously the best way to start off the day! After breakfast, we decided to go to the movies. We saw Now You See Me and it was really entertaining. I can’t watch stuff that’s too serious in the summer and this was fun and exactly what we were looking for.

After the movie, we decided to try out a new restaurant in Williamsburg called Tony’s All American Grill. It was a 50’s diner-type place and was really cute inside! They had a lot of great choices on the menu and also served breakfast all day. I decided on the Williamsburger, which had ham and pineapple on top with BBQ sauce. I picked sweet potato fries as my side.

IMG_1116

The sweet potato fries were to die for! The burger was ok, but the meat was pretty dry, so it wasn’t the best burger I’ve ever had. It was really nice just to go out with Riley and enjoy some time together. Most of our evenings are spent at home, so I was long overdue for some date time!

IMG_1114 IMG_1115

Once we were settled at home, I got to spend some time with my favorite cuddler, Coco. She’s a stage-five clinger and likes to dig in her claws and bury her face in my neck.

IMG_1117

Not much on tap for today, except probably hitting the gym later this afternoon. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

What’s your favorite weekend breakfast/brunch food?

What’s the best movie you’ve seen so far this summer?

Leave a Reply

