Home » Daily food & workouts » Motivation Monday

Motivation Monday

It’s a new week and a new month! While the normal human part of me hates Mondays in some ways, the other half really likes them because Monday usually signifies a fresh start. Just think about it. Whenever we set new goals, decide to break a bad habit, or want to start fresh in any way, Monday is almost always when it happens. I’ve decided not to hate Monday so much. 🙂

The rest of my weekend was pretty uneventful. After a late start to the day yesterday, I was able to make it to the gym for some easy cardio. That’s where my motivation stopped. The rest of the day was spent napping, reading, and watching Vampire Diaries on Netflix. I know. I’m judging myself just for even admitting that to the public, but it seemed like a good idea at the time. Anyway….

Workout & Breakfast

Today started just like any Monday should, with grumbling and whining motivation to start a new week & month off on the right foot! After spending a solid 20 minutes pep-talking myself in bed, I got up and threw on my gym clothes.

I made it to the gym around 5:15 and hopped on the treadmill to run for 25 minutes. I did a mix of sprinting intervals and steady running that had me nice and sweaty. The second half of my workout was spent in the weight area working my arms, shoulders, and chest.

Once I got home, the rain had finally cleared up! Woo hoo! This wouldn’t last, but it was nice for a while.

Image

Breakfast was one of my favorites today- a bacon, egg, and cheese breakfast sandwich! I’ve seen a lot of stuff on Pinterest about how to make a these ahead of time to freeze and I keep meaning to do it, but….well..I’m lazy.

ImageI made my breakfast with the following ingredients:

  • Arnold 100-calorie sandwich thin
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2 slices of bacon
  • 1 slice cheddar cheese

Delish! I ate mine with some blueberries and a glass of almond milk.

Image

Sadly, the bland look of sandwich thins don’t do this sandwich much justice in pictures. I could eat this every day!

July Goals

I’m excited about July for several reasons. First, my work closes down every Friday in July so starting this week I don’t work a full week for a month. Score! Second, I’d decided to set a few goals for the month.

Goal Number 1: Take a Mini Vacation

I have free Marriott nights to use and I’d really like to head somewhere I’ve never been for a quick getaway. My top choices right now are Savannah, GA or Charleston, SC. I’d love suggestions if anyone has any!

Goal Number 2: Go to the beach every weekend

There’s a small beach on the river less than 10 minutes from our house and I really want to take advantage of it more this summer! It’s super peaceful and would also be a great spot for a sunset picnic.

Image

Goal Number 3: Prep more food on the weekends

I end up rushing a lot in the morning to get lunch together. My goal for this month is to take some time every weekend to cut up veggies, fruit, and cook some easy staples like quinoa to make the process a little easier.

Goal Number 4: Do more yoga

I’ve been bad about this one. In fact, I couldn’t tell you the last time I did yoga. The hot yoga studio nearby stopped offering their free weekly class, so I stopped going. 😦 If I make it to 3 classes this month, I’ll consider my goal met.

Riley is cooking up some steak, onions, and peppers for dinner and they smell delicious! With that said, I’m off to pour a glass of wine and put my feet up. Hope everyone had a great Monday!

What’s your biggest goal for July?

What’s your favorite place to take a long weekend?

3 thoughts on “Motivation Monday

  1. Omg I wish it was summer here and weather I could have the goal to go to the beach every weekend 🙂

    Love the idea of your breakfast thin sandwich. I admire you for being at the gym at 5.15 in the morning to workout! My gym doesn’t open till 6am and that us early enough for me!

    July goals I haven’t set yet but I’m wanting to do more running and use my foam roller more. I can’t praise weekend food prepping enough. If you haven’t before check out the Lean Green Bean blog and see her weekly Sunday food prep round ups.

Leave a Reply

