Home » Food & Recipes » Happy Fourth of July!

Happy Fourth of July!

Happy Independence Day! I started my 4-day weekend last night at my friend Danielle’s house. She’s the one I went zip-lining with the other week and we hadn’t gotten a chance to catch up in a while.

We had some brie and pita crisps with some wine while getting dinner ready.

 

Image

Image

Dinner was a crab cake with corn salad and a side salad of greens.

Image

It was so good! After dinner we got caught up on some episodes of The Bachelorette and enjoyed some more wine, cheese, and pita crisps. We could not stop eating them! I had to look them up today: Stacy’s Perfectly Thymed Pita Crisps. I’m pretty sure we ate the whole bag. It’s fine.

I loved being able to relax and have some girl time. We also had a furry buddy that Danielle was babysitting for the week.

Image

Today, I wanted to get to the grocery store before the crowds so I make a quick stop at the gym for some cardio on the adaptive motion trainer. My workout was nothing to write home about (or blog about apparently), but I’m glad I got in some activity early in the day. The highlight of my workout was the chocolate & peanut butter smoothie I picked up from my gym’s smoothie bar.

Red White and Blue Fruit Skewers with Fruit Dip

Yesterday, I posted a link to these 4th of July themed fruit skewers that I wanted to make over at Skinny Taste.

I didn’t have the ingredients to make the cheesecake dip, so I made up one of my own. They are so cute and delicious! Even Riley approved, and he’s hard to please if I use the word “healthy” in relation to dessert. The dip came together really well and was ridiculously easy. Here’s what I used:

  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Angel food cake. I found it in block form at the store, which was perfect for cutting the squares.
  • 1 container of Dannon Greek Blends in toasted coconut vanilla
  • About 2 cups of fat-free Cool Whip
  • Zest from 1 lemon

After threading the skewers, just mix together the yogurt and Cool Whip in a small bowl. Dip and enjoy!

 

PicMonkey Collage

IMG_1138

Tonight’s plans include watching some fireworks on the beach. Williamsburg is a very busy place on the 4th of July so hopefully it won’t be too crowded.

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday and stays safe!

4 thoughts on “Happy Fourth of July!

Leave a Reply

