Home » Daily food & workouts » 4th of July Fun

4th of July Fun

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July yesterday! Riley and I ended up keeping things pretty low-key. Since Williamsburg is so busy right now, we really wanted to avoid the crowds and traffic. We decided to have a good ‘ol American dinner of cheeseburgers and fries. Riley is amazing on the grill and made some delicious burgers. I had mine with baked sweet potato fries and I cleaned my plate!

 

PicMonkey Collage

It was gorgeous outside and it was awesome to enjoy some sunshine for the first time in several days. It’s been so gross and rainy lately! Coco enjoyed sitting outside as well.

IMG_1141

After dinner we packed a couple of chairs and some wine and headed to the beach. Busch Gardens puts on fireworks every night this month and we were hoping we’d have a good view of them from the river. It was the perfect way to relax as the sun went down and we listened to some beachy music while we sipped our wine.

IMG_1145

IMG_1146

When the fireworks started, we quickly realized that we were on the wrong section of the beach! After some scrambling, we made it to the next section up and had a perfect view of the Busch Gardens fireworks. We missed half the show, but it was better than nothing!  We could even see some of the Colonial Williamsburg fireworks from there. The rest of the night was spent at home hanging out and listening to music. All in all, it was a pretty great day!

Today I plan on hitting the gym and maybe doing some shopping. I also want to make some healthy snacks to munch on over the weekend.. I found this one on Pinterest that I’m really excited about making:

5b1ecf93974b13d6b12c8887c7f2f261Avocado Corn Salsa by Damn Delicious

Happy Friday everyone!

How was your 4th of July?

What are you excited about eating this weekend?

8 thoughts on “4th of July Fun

  1. I wish I lived that close to the beach! I ate a lot of pie this weekend 🙂 I’m hoping I get to do some grilling out this weekend. Summer corn is my favorite.

  2. I’m waiting on some friends to come over so I can drink some red wine and dive into some really nice cheese and crackers 🙂

    That salsa looks delicious, I can’t wait to hear about how it goes!

Leave a Reply

