Home » Daily food & workouts » Saturday Circuit and Playlist

Saturday Circuit and Playlist

I had a lot of energy this morning when I went to the gym! Part if it might have to do with the sloth day I had yesterday where I did absolutely nothing useful, or it could be the 9 hours of sleep I got. Either way, I was ready to go this morning! I put on the rap strength training Pandora station and did a nice long workout of circuits mixed in with cardio.

 

Image

First off- the music! My playlist was super motivating and I alternated between more upbeat for cardio and rap for the strength circuits. Here are some of the songs that got me pumped up today (be warned, if you click the links, I can’t guarantee they are the “radio” version!):

If you want to see some of my other favorite songs, check out my last post on Motivating Workout Music.

Now on to my workout! I had some gym ADD today so I decided to mix in short, 10 minute cardio bursts into my strength circuits.

 

Image

 

It took a little over an hour to go through the whole thing and cool down/stretch. I was dripping sweat by the time I was done!

After I got home I quickly made myself some breakfast. I had a bowl of Trader Joe’s cereal with blueberries, a banana, chia seeds, and almond milk. I sat out on the deck to eat and watch Coco and Bella run around.

 

Image

After a much needed shower, Riley and I went out to see World War Z at the movies. It was really intense! I realized at the end I’d been holding my breath through most of it. You should go see it, I highly recommend it. 🙂

After the movie, we went to a local restaurant, Baker’s Crust, for some lunch. Those of you from the Richmond area are probably familiar with this place. I’ve been eating there for years and I love their selection of salads and sandwiches. Today I got the Summer Chopped Kale Salad, which had carrots, cucumbers, dried cranberries, walnuts, goat cheese, and a yummy vinaigrette. I added chicken to mine for some extra protein.

 

Image

So good! Did you know that 2 cups of raw kale have 600 mg potassium, 400% of your daily vitamin A, and almost 300% of your daily vitamin C? Fun facts, thanks to my handy-dandy food logging app (My Fitness Pal). It has a whole bunch of other benefits too, so I’m glad I went with that choice. It was also super tasty and hit the spot!

Riley and I are enjoying some down time at the house before heading to his dad’s house for a cookout. My parents are heading down to meet us as well, so I’m looking forward to some family time and good food later.

Have a great Saturday!

 

Did you work out today? What did you do?

What’s your favorite summer salad combination?

3 thoughts on “Saturday Circuit and Playlist

  1. Busta Ryhmes – BEST PERSON TO LISTEN TO WHEN YOU’RE WORKING OUT – EVER! Ah ha ha ha ha! 😉 Clearly he makes me happy!

    ANd my FAVORITE salad combo is definitely Salad Nicoise = Sear Tuna, Hard Boiled Eggs, Capers, Olives, Red Onion, Green Beans All drizzled with some delicious olive oil, champagne vinegrette dressing! Mmmmmmmmm!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

