Home » Food & Recipes » Summer Vegetable Pasta

Summer Vegetable Pasta

I’m on the road again! I normally only travel for work in the fall, but I have a mid-summer trip that’s taken me to Winston-Salem today and Raleigh tomorrow.

I got to sleep in this morning and was able to head out for a run before hitting the road. The GPS on my RunKeeper app failed me and said I only ran .11 miles. Lies. Judging by the route I usually run and how long I was out I estimate that I ran about 3 miles in around 30 minutes. It was already almost 80 degrees outside and was not my most successful run, but I’m glad I got in some exercise before the 4 hour car ride! After my run I scarfed down a bowl of cereal with a banana.

After the long drive and work I’m finally relaxing in my hotel room. I like to stay at Residence Inn’s when I travel because they’re so roomy and they include free breakfast and dinner some nights (with free wine!).

 

Image

 

 

 

Image

My hotel is offering a free dinner tonight and the theme is “Italian Night.” Looks like I’ll probably be having some salad and pasta for dinner! Speaking of pasta…..

Summer Vegetable Pasta

After raiding the in-laws’ garden this past weekend I had a ton of vegetables. Last night’s dinner was my first successful meal with them and I made a pretty good dent in our stash.

 

Image

 

Summer Vegetable Pasta Recipe

Makes 3-4 servings. Total time- approximately 25 minutes.

  • 1 yellow squash, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 6-8 cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1 bag of tri-color cheese tortellini
  • Grilled chicken strips (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 cup fat-free feta cheese
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp chopped garlic (or one clove)
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • salt & pepper, to taste

I sauteed the squash, zucchini, and pepper in olive oil and the seasonings over medium heat while the water for the pasta started to boil. Once I put the pasta in, I added the chicken to the vegetable mixture to heat through. I put the tomatoes in at the end just to heat up quickly since I didn’t want them to get mushy. After everything’s cooked through just sprinkle some feta cheese on top. Voila!

 

ImageImage

 

It turned out so yummy!

 

Image

Image

I’ll be keeping this one on rotation as a quick and easy weeknight dinner. Now I’m off to check out the hotel’s dinner selections before catching up on all the blogs I haven’t gotten to read today!

 

What’s a quick and easy go-to dinner you make a lot?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Summer Vegetable Pasta

  1. Yes!!! When I responded to your comment on my blog, I was hoping you’d have a recipe up for the pasta dish! 🙂 It sounds sooo good, and I need to check those chicken strips out at TJ’s next time I go!

  2. That pasta looks delicious!! and thats such a smart idea to just essentially warm up the tomatoes to avoid that mushiness that tends to happen rather quickly when you try to saute them with everything else. and dont you love free breakfast?? when i travel, that makes my whole day 🙂

  3. Pingback: Healthy Eating on the Road | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

