Home » Daily food & workouts » The 5-Minute Workout Myth

The 5-Minute Workout Myth

I’m writing from Raleigh, NC, this evening and I was thinking about how to stay in shape while traveling, whether it’s for work or pleasure. While I was browsing the Health & Fitness pins on Pinterest, I saw a lot of headlines that look like this:

  • “Bikini body in 5 minutes a day”
  • “Supermodel workout- only 7 minutes!”
  • “How to lose weight in only 10 minutes a day!”

I hate to break it to you, but….this is a myth. I don’t know anyone who lost weight or got a supermodel body in 10 minutes or less a day. Being in shape and having the body you want takes work. Lots of work. If it were that easy, everyone would look like Giselle! Being healthy and in shape takes the motivation to work harder and push yourself past your comfort zone.

With that said, I understand the idea behind it. When you know you’ve only got a couple minutes left to do something, it seems a lot more attainable. I look at those super short workouts and think, “Sure, I can do anything for 5 minutes!” Those workouts give me ideas for how I can maximize my time for when I’m not able to drag my workout out.

I had these thoughts in mind as I got ready to work out this morning. I had a rough night since I don’t usually sleep well in hotels, but I got up this morning determined not to disrupt my routine. I was also determined to fit a lot into my workout so I could finish in time to get to the free breakfast at my hotel!

 

Image

After throwing on my clothes, I checked out the hotel fitness facilities:

 

Image

Not too shabby! I’ve stayed at hotels that had a treadmill and a bike and nothing else. With the 5-minute workout theme running through my mind, I decided to do my own version of this, but instead of one 5-minute workout I did eight of them! It’s true, you can do anything for 5 minutes, and by switching up what exercise you do for each segments the workout will go by super quickly! Mine looked like this:

  • 5 minute run on the treadmill
  • 5 minutes of legs: squats, calf raises, split lunges, dead lifts. However many exercises I could fit into 5 minutes, I did.
  • 5 minutes on the bike
  • 5 minutes of ab exercises: ab ball crunches, side crunches, bicycle crunches, planks
  • 5 minute run
  • 5 minutes arms and shoulders: shoulder presses, bicep curls, tricep dips
  • 5 minutes elliptical
  • 5 minutes stretching

It went by so fast because they were just a bunch of mini workouts!

I was able to make it in time for the hotel’s free breakfast and decided on eggs, melon, toast with peanut butter, a banana and coffee.

 

Image

 

After checking out, I headed to Durham to meet up with one of my best friends, Molly, for some Mexican food. It was awesome to catch up with her and hear all about the upcoming arrival of her first baby. I have to say, she looks amazing for being 4 weeks away! It was also great to chow down on some chips and taco salad. I even indulged in the cheese dip, despite saying a week or two ago how one should skip cheese dip if they want to stay in shape. I was peer pressured by the pregnant lady, I couldn’t say no! 🙂

 

Image

Image

Molly’s also a blogger, though she’s been doing it a lot longer than me and is much more knowledgeable. She writes over at still being [Molly] and I love her blog!

I was so glad I was able to catch up with her, even for a short amount of time!

 

Image

Now that I’m done with my work for the day and settled in, I’m off to the manager’s reception in the lobby to check out some dinner. Have a great evening!

 

What’s your favorite “quickie” workout?

How do you stay in shape when you’re traveling?

 

8 thoughts on “The 5-Minute Workout Myth

  1. Way to go on your workout!! I always have a hard time MAKING myself work out while I’m traveling, but you feel SO much better when you do! I love that you challenged yourself and did multiple 5 minute workouts. Excellent idea! I know you felt the burn!

  2. I love doing workouts like that as it can really keep it interesting, keep you on your toes and also keep the intensity up. I have a Tabata app on my phone which has 4 minutes of rounds consisting of 20 secs work and 10 secs rest and it counts down the time, when I went to Hawaii on holiday with my bf earlier this year I did Tabata workouts in our hotel room when there were places without a gym. I’d do star jumps, high knees, butt kicks, burpees etc for 5-10 rounds for 4 mins per round which added up to anywhere from 20-40 minutes, it was tough but I could shorten it down to the time we had and it was great as there was no need for equipment 🙂

  3. Nice job getting in that workout!! every little bit helps. i agree that nobody is about to turn into giselle with 10 minutes a day, but as part of larger workout routine, it all helps! and if nothing else, its good for your head. i always think better with some sort of workout in the morning. (and coffee- cant think without coffee 🙂 ) anyways cant wait to check out Molly’s blog! looks like a really fun reunion!

Leave a Reply

