Home » Daily food & workouts » Healthier Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Healthier Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

It’s Monday again! I hope everyone had a relaxing and fun-filled weekend. I spent most of mine lounging with Riley and the pets and sprinkling in some productivity when I felt like it. I also took the whole weekend off from the gym, which was definitely a nice little break!

Yesterday’s Sunday brunch was to die for! Riley made good use of our garden veggies and put them in the scrambled eggs and hash browns. Throw in some bacon and I was a happy camper yesterday morning.

 

Image

I was in a nice little food coma after brunch and a felt lot like this gal:

 

Image

We used to never let her on the furniture. Now she just does whatever she wants and we allow it because, well, she’s old. And she’ll do it while we’re asleep anyway.

After I recovered from the breakfast extravaganza I got bored. Turns out, I’m great at 3-day weekends on day one! By day three? I’m climbing the walls. I’d been obsessing over the new Jif Whipped peanut butter I bought the other day and eating it straight out of the container so I figured It’d be a good idea to give it a real purpose. Enter the yummiest cookies I’ve made in a really long time.

 

Image

 

Holy Cow. I can’t even describe how good these are. Even though I made them slightly lighter, it’s taking an epic amount of restraint not to eat the whole plate. Thank goodness I went back to work today.

I made some slight adjustments to this recipe from All Recipes and tried to make it a little bit healthier than your average cookie. I’m glad I did because you couldn’t even taste a difference!

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 stick Land O Lakes Light butter (50% less fat/calories than regular butter)
  • 1/2 cup Splenda (or Stevia)
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup Jif Whipped Peanut Butter (less sugar/fat than regular)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • .5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup whole grain oats
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

With a hand mixer, cream the butter, Splenda, and brown sugar in a bowl. It helps if you slightly soften the butter first. Stir in the whipped peanut butter, vanilla, and egg until blended. Then add in the flour, baking soda and salt until moistened. Fold in the oats and chocolate chips to evenly distribute. Drop spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

The original recipe says it makes 3 dozen, but I wasn’t playing around. No thumb-sized cookies for me! My recipe made about 2 dozen cookies and they just melt in your mouth. Riley had several and it was really hard for me to keep it to just 2. By making a couple healthier swaps (like the Splenda, light butter and whipped peanut butter) I was able to cut out a lot of the fat and sugar, but I didn’t lose any flavor!

 

Image

 

Workout & Breakfast Today

Today started at 4:30 AM (WHY?!?!?) and I made my way to the gym. I started off with a 20 minute interval workout on the treadmill. I took my sprints from 8.0 mph to 10.5 mph and finished nice and sweaty! After mopping my face, I grabbed a kettlebell and some dumbbells to do the following:

  • Dumbbell squats with overhead press (15)
  • 1-handed kettlebell swings (10 each side)
  • Front lunges with dumbbells (10 each side)
  • Mountain climbers (20)
  • Donkey kicks (15 each side)
  • Back lunges with dumbbells (10 each side)

After doing this 3 times, I was just about done! My workout worked up a nice appetite and before leaving for work, I whipped up some blueberry pancakes.

 

Image

 

I made some small adjustments to my usual Greek Yogurt Pancakes and added some fresh blueberries into the mix. So good!

Now I’m off to run some errands and make the most of the rest of my lunch break. Hope everyone has a great start to the week!

 

What are your favorite healthy swaps when baking/cooking?

What’s your favorite way to eat peanut butter?

16 thoughts on “Healthier Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. 4:30? man that is early. I do not get up to workout before 5:30 that’s the earliest I could do it EVER! Love the cookie recipe, too bad I am laying off the sweets for the next week or two.

  2. Oh my goodness. 1. Your dog is hilarious. 2. Those cookies look AWESOME! I can practically smell them through my monitor! 3. That bacon also looked quite scrumptious! Holy yum! 4. a 4:30 AM WORKOUT!!! WOWZERS!!!

  3. I need to make some greek yoghurt pancakes again, I always enjoy them when I do!

    Your dog is too cute.

    OMG those cookies! I am the same with 3 day weekends, I can get so much done and then go stir crazy, I’ve got to schedule lots of stuff as well as lots of down time.

  4. what a cute dog!!! Adorable.

    PB is one of my faves for sure. But, I have zero self-control when it comes to anything with PB in it. Lately, I’ve been making banana soft serve with a little PB mixed in. Delicious!

  5. Those pancakes look delish! I might consider waking up at 4:30 AM for those LOL.

    Fav way to eat peanut butter is with a spoon! Gotta limit my intake cause I could seriously polish off a jar. I do really love them stirred into my morning oatmeal with a banana 🙂

  6. Pingback: Why You Should Eat Cookies For Breakfast | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

