Home » Daily food & workouts » The Executive Lunch

The Executive Lunch

Hope everyone’s having a great day so far! Yesterday ended with a nice evening at home and a dinner of a huge salad. Riley baked some chicken to put on top and made some homemade croutons. It was a great way to get in some more of the garden veggies we’ve been going through and have a nice and light summer dinner.

 

Image

Today’s workout didn’t happen due to a very weird night’s sleep and some sore quads this morning. Since I have the whole rest of the week off I figured I have plenty of time to make it up!

Lunch

I always like indulging in a long lunch during the work day. Since most of my lunches consist of eating at my desk while stalking reading blogs, I don’t really get out much! My co-worker and I decided to go to an Italian restaurant near work called Bensi. I’d never been there before, but it was really pretty inside and they had an extensive menu of reasonably priced items.

Image

While we reviewed the menu they brought us some bread with a really yummy dipping sauce. It was a nice change from the usual plain olive oil and had a really good flavor. For lunch, I decided on the Quattro Stagione pizza, which had artichokes, peppers, zucchini, eggplant with plum sauce, and truffle oil. It was delicious!

 

Image

Despite the high veggie content, I don’t really know if I’d classify my lunch as “healthy” (look at all that cheese!!), but it was definitely worth the calories.

Ethereal Cupcakes

After lunch we took a quick stroll to a new cupcake place called Ethereal Cupcakes. It was one of the cutest little shops! As soon as we walked in we were greeted by an employee who welcomed us, explained the company philosophy and walked us through the flavors of the day. I loved the personal touch!

According to the store and their website, all of their cupcakes are completely fresh, made 100% from scratch every day and use only the highest quality, all-natural ingredients:

You won’t find any store bought cake or brownie mixes in our Shoppe, nor will you find any artificial colors or additives in our kitchen. Our cupcakes are made fresh each day 100% from scratch, using real butter, pure sugar, top quality Omega 3 eggs, and the best flours we can find. Our gourmet desserts will never contain any artificial preservatives.“- Ethereal Cupcakes.

In addition to gluten-free and vegan options, my personal favorite was the “alcohol-infused” cupcake. Wait, what?! Too bad it was the middle of a work day! Since most of the alcohol cooks off in the baking process, the store didn’t want their customers to feel cheated, so they put some more alcohol in the frosting! Lordy….

We decided to split a Salted Caramel cupcake and it was amazing. You could definitely tell everything was freshly made and the frosting was super light and creamy!

 

Image

 

Even though our lunch break ran a little long, it was a lot of fun to try some new places in town.

This evening’s plan is to lounge at home and make a list of fun projects for my days off. Some of the things I hope to do include:

  • Mini at-home spa day (facial, nails, etc.)
  • Attend a yoga class
  • Hit up GNC for some new supplements or new protein powder. I just got a $10 off coupon in the mail today!
  • Try some new recipes

Other than that, I don’t have super high expectations except to enjoy the down time while it lasts. Have a great night!

What new restaurants are you loving?

What’s your favorite supplement or protein powder?

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Executive Lunch

  1. What are you doing to me with that pizza and cupcake?!? Yum! That at home spa day sounds glorious! I haven’t been to a new restaurant in a while 😦 And I love just plain egg white protein powder. I take fish oil and Vitamin D daily 🙂

Leave a Reply

