Home » Food & Recipes » Portabella Mushroom “Pizza” For One

Portabella Mushroom “Pizza” For One

I’m loving these days off! I slept in this morning and didn’t get up until after Riley left for work, which is really rare. I was able to take my time getting to the gym and loved not having any time constraints.

I go to an awesome locally owned gym in Williamsburg and I see a lot of the same people every day. The owner of the gym is also around all the time and he called me a slacker today for not being there at my usual 5:00 am time. No worries, I’ll be back in crazy-ville next week! The only downside to working out later in the morning is that the gym is really busy at 9:30 in the morning. There were a lot of personal training sessions going on so it was nearly impossible to get any floor space.

Since my plans to do a circuit workout were thwarted by the over-crowded free area, I hopped on the AMT for 30 minutes, then headed to the weight room to work my arms and back for a little while. Nice and easy! After my workout,  I stopped by Fresh Market for some produce before heading home.

Another upside to my time off is being able to spend time with my babies. Coco and Bella are enjoying the warm summer sun, even though the rest of us are roasting!

Coco & Bella sunbathing

GNC 48-Hour Cleanse

I bought my first cleanse and started it at lunch time yesterday. Basically I just drink it mixed with water 4x a day and eat fruits and vegetables. This is harder than I thought it would be. I really wanted my leftover pizza for dinner last night and I also wanted another one of those cookies (the ones that turned me into a manic gym freak). Instead, I’ve been drinking a bright yellow concoction that’s trying to tasty citrusy. The upside to this cleanse? It does an amazing job of suppressing my appetite. I was surprised by this since very few things manage to do that. I’m usually hungry all. the. time.

Since I was on the lookout for snacks that only entailed fruits or veggies, these dried okra crisps caught my eye at Fresh Market and I decided to pick them up.

Okra

They are actually really good! I love the crunch and it’s helping me curb the urge to dig into the sweet potato chips in my pantry (do those count as eating veggies?).

So far this cleanse has been nice and easy. I did have a headache last night for a few hours, but according to the internet that’s a good sign that the toxins are getting flushed out of my body. Thanks, Dr. Google!

Portabella Mushroom Pizzas

Since I’m on a fruit/veggie only diet, I decided to make this recipe I’ve had pinned on on Pinterest for a while. It was super quick and easy to put together! I altered the recipe slightly since it was just me eating it, so for one serving I used:

  • 2 Portabella mushroom caps (I couldn’t find whole ones at the store)
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 leek, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 lemon juice
  • salt & pepper
  • Italian seasoning
  • 5 basil leaves, torn
  • Parmesan cheese, grated

I sauteed the onion for a couple minutes before adding the leek, tomato, garlic, seasonings, basil, and lemon juice (just squeeze over the top, it doesn’t have to be precise).

After the veggies were soft I spooned the mixture on top of the mushroom caps. Finally, I topped them with a little of the cheese before baking about 10-12 minutes at 400 degrees. I cheated with the cheese, but whatever. Everything else was cleanse-approved.

Portabella pizza2

These were really good! The meaty texture of the mushroom helped me feel super full and the flavors were delicious. Now don’t be fooled. This is not pizza. I know what the name of the recipe is, but let’s be honest.  If it doesn’t have crust and I have to eat with a fork and knife, it doesn’t count. It was, however, a really tasty lunch and I would definitely make these again!

On tap for the rest of the afternoon is lounging at home and reading some magazines. Tough life. 🙂

What’s your favorite all-veggie recipe?

15 thoughts on “Portabella Mushroom “Pizza” For One

  1. I’ve never heard of okra crisps, but I bet I would like them. I love okra just about any way you can make it.

    My fav veggie dish…Oh that’s hard for me…My mom makes this 7 layer salad thing that would probably be my favorite. It starts with a layer of lettuce, then peas, then carrots, then chopped onions, and on and on. Pretty tasty for veggies 🙂

  2. I love having as much time as I want at the gym as well! There’s something so relaxing about it :). Huh, that sounds like an interesting cleanse. I like that you’re able to eat fruits and veg when you’re on it. That sounds much more manageable and safe than only being able to drink juice!

  3. Yum! I definitely need to try that portabella pizza! It’s good that you’re not hungry on your cleanse – usually you starve to death on those things, haha. Ugh I hate the gym when everyone and their brother, mom, dad, and uncle are there. So annoying…I LOVE spaghetti squash. Meghan and I make spaghetti with a tomato basil sauce regularly in the winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

