Home » Food & Recipes » Banana Overnight Oats

Banana Overnight Oats

It’s Monday! I know most people hate Mondays, but for some reason I love starting a new week. I think it has something to do with being able to “start over” after spending a weekend drinking my weight in Coronas and over-indulging! Not that I regret it…..

Workout & Breakfast

After 5 days off from work (and my early workouts), it was a rude awakening when the alarm went off at 4:30 today! I spent roughly 45 minutes last night not sleeping and making a mental to-do list in my head before I finally just wrote it all down in my phone. Ahh, back to work stress. I was determined to get my week off on the right foot, however, so I quickly got dressed and made it to the gym right around opening time.

I hopped on the adaptive motion trainer for 35 minutes of cardio before grabbing a medicine ball and a mat for some ab work.

 

burnin' abs workout

After getting home I was excited to try my latest creation. I’m waaaay late in trying overnight oats, but I figured better late than never! I’ve shied away from making them before because I kept picturing a mushy paste and it just seemed weird and gross to me. The appeal of being able to make my breakfast night before was too tempting to ignore, however, so I’ve finally gotten with the program and given it a shot.

I made them using these basic ingredients:

  • 1 small container of vanilla Greek yogurt
  • oatmeal (I eyeballed it, but it was somewhere between 1/2 and 2/3 cup)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds

After letting them sit overnight I stirred them up and added banana slices and some slivered almonds for some crunch. I’m happy to report that I really liked them! I loved how filling they were and the texture didn’t bother me the way I though it would. I feel like I need a little bit of crunch in there to fully enjoy it, but these will definitely be on the breakfast rotation from now on!

 

overnight oats2

Now that I’m wide awake at work with my coffee it’s time to go get caught up on work. Have a great day!

Monday Smiles

I’ve read some cute/funny stuff recently that I thought I’d share. Hopefully it’ll make you smile and get your week started off in the right direction!

Buzzfeed- 30 Signs You’re Almost 30

Huffington Post- 21 Reasons A Dog Is The Best Investment You Will Ever Make

Buzzfeed- 9 Signs You’ve Become That Person About Getting Healthy (This is what blogs are for, so regular friends don’t have to hear all about my cardio session, haha)

 

Happy Monday, everyone!!!

Do you eat overnight oats? If so, what’s your favorite way to make them?

20 thoughts on “Banana Overnight Oats

  1. I love starting a new week as well :). Good for you for still getting out of bed in the morning to work out! I had to get up at the same time to get up for my flight and was about to kill someone ;). Oh and I’ll be stealing that ab workout! I’m usually so lazy about training mine and need all the help I can get!

  2. I haven’t made overnight oats in a long time. I like how your version only has 4 ingredients. Super simple – I need those because I always end up making everything last minute the night before 😉

  3. HAHA love Buzzfeed 🙂 I check it almost daily for a laugh/distraction from work!! I had never really read into how overnight oats were made, so I’m glad you did a little posty post on them! They sound pretty tasty!

  4. I loved the links….. # 19 on the one about nearing 30 was great, though, I was younger than you are when I had YOU, LOL. And I’m gonna try though oat things too. Actually looked good!

  5. Pingback: The Lazy Girl’s Weeknight Dinner | Kelly Runs for Food

  6. Pingback: Fabulous Pinterest Finds | Kelly Runs for Food

  7. Pingback: Falling Off The Wagon….So To Speak | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

