Home » Food & Recipes » Uphill Battle Treadmill Workout

Uphill Battle Treadmill Workout

It’s Tuesday! I had such a productive day yesterday and really got my week off on the right foot. After a busy, but great day at work I threw together a quick and easy dinner. I made a small salad with homemade wheat croutons, then made some quinoa and some broccoli & cheese stuffed chicken. Before you get too excited, the chicken was pre-packaged. Hey, there’s only so much I can fit in one day!

 

Dinner collage

The chicken was actually pretty good, but I might make the quinoa differently next time. It had too much of a sun-dried tomato taste and just tasted off.

Speaking of Quinoa, have you seen the Pinterest board about the imaginary well dressed toddler daughter? This woman posts pictures of fashionable toddler girls and writes really funny captions about her “daughter,” Quinoa. It’s hilarious. You’re welcome for the morning laugh 🙂

Workout & Breakfast

I was saved by the cat this morning. When the alarm went off at 4:30, all I could think was how good it would feel to sleep in another couple hours. So I laid there for 15 minutes and thought about it for a little bit. And laid some more. Then Coco, my furry alarm clock, seemed to know exactly what was going on and she started meowing and scratching at the door. Since I knew she’d wake up Riley if I didn’t get up, I finally got that extra shove out of bed!

Once I got to the gym, I really wanted to hit it quickly so I could get in and out. I decided to challenge myself on the treadmill with some hills. I live in a pretty flat area so I don’t get a lot of hill training even when I run outside. Today’s workout was a doozy! I was super sweaty by the time I finished. Minutes 10-12 and 18-20 were the toughest for me!

 

Uphill Battle Treadmill Workout

After the run, I went to the weight area to work my legs some more. I did 3 sets (15 reps each) on the seated leg press,  hip adducter, hip abducter, and then some lunges. Nothing too long, but it rounded out my workout nicely.

Breakfast today was a Strawberry Shortcake smoothie made with:

  • Spiru-tein strawberry shortcake packet
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

 

Strawberry Shortcake Smoothie

Tasty! I’m glad I had that smoothie packet because I’m basically out of food now. On my to-do list for the day is to make a grocery list for after work.

I’ve heard a lot of people asking for good no-cook dinner ideas. With all this heat, the idea of standing over a stove just doesn’t sound appealing at all. Well, this article couldn’t have shown up in my email at a better time: Sparkpeople’s 29 no-cook meal ideas. Perfect! I can’t wait to browse the ideas while I plan my grocery trip.

I’ll let you know if I make any of these recipes. Time for my morning coffee fix before a full day of interviewing potential student employees. Hope you all have a great day!

What have you been making for dinner lately?

10 thoughts on “Uphill Battle Treadmill Workout

  1. Wow…4:30 a.m.!?! That’s so early! I’ve got to give you credit though…I wish I could get up that early and get my workout in before I go to work. Looks like a great run!

Leave a Reply

