Home » Food & Recipes » Spaghetti Squash and Girl’s Night

Spaghetti Squash and Girl’s Night

Good morning! Just popping in for a quick recipe from last night’s dinner. My workout didn’t happen this morning, despite my 9:30 bedtime last night. I think the 3 straight days of waking up early and being super busy just wore me out and my body wasn’t feeling it. As soon as the alarm went off at 4:30, I felt like this:

 

I reset the alarm for 6:30 and slept another glorious 2 hours!

Spaghetti Squash with Chicken Sausage

Last night my friend Danielle came over for dinner so we could catch up on all the Bachelorette episodes we’ve missed. After a few days of work and errands I was ready to have a little mid-week fun!

Kelly wine

I picked up a spaghetti squash the other day and knew I wanted to make something yummy with it. The end result was delicious!

spaghetti squash 2

Spaghetti squash is really easy to make and doesn’t take a lot of time or effort. Here’s how I make mine:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • garlic powder
  • 1 package chicken sausage, cut into small pieces (I used sweet Italian)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cups raw spinach, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Reduced-fat feta cheese.

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Using a sharp knife, slice the squash in half longways. Scrape out seeds in the middle and discard. Season with salt, pepper, & garlic powder and drizzle olive oil. Place cut side down on a cookie sheet and roast in the oven for 40 minutes.

2) When you have about 15 minutes left on the clock, throw the chicken sausage, onion, pepper, and garlic into a pan over medium heat. Reduce heat to low when vegetables start to soften.

3) Remove spaghetti squash and allow to cool. Put the spinach in the chicken mixture at this point and let it cook down.

4) Using a fork, gently scrape the squash out. It should resemble spaghetti strands.

5) Top about 1.5 cups of squash with the chicken mixture. Top with some feta cheese and red pepper flakes (optional) and enjoy!

 

spaghetti squash 1

There you go! Spaghetti squash has a ton of health benefits and only has around 40 calories per cup. I love using it as a substitute for pasta. I’ve made it with marinara and turkey meatballs before and that was probably my favorite, but the above version is a bit more “summery.”

That’s all for now since I have a busy work day ahead of me. I’ll be back later to tell you about the cookies n’ cream smoothie I made this morning!

What’s your favorite way to make spaghetti squash?

11 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash and Girl’s Night

  1. Obsessed with spaghetti squash, I cook about 12-16 squash a WEEK! and eat it ALL! LOL!!! I am crazy!

    Oh and who do you think is winning Bachelorette? I guess you cannot call it winning… Okay who do you think Desiree is picking?!

Leave a Reply

