Home » Food & Recipes » Santa Fe Shrimp and Rice Bowls

Santa Fe Shrimp and Rice Bowls

My day off yesterday was both productive and relaxing. One of the things I’ve been working on is learning how to step back from the feeling of always having to be on the go. Riley tells me I suck at relaxing and I definitely do. I’ve been know to vacuum my house in my suit and heels from work because I literally can’t relax if everything isn’t crossed of my to-do list! It’s one of those things that has mellowed out as I’ve gotten older, but I still have a ways to go.

Today I’m proud to report that after my run, cleaning the house, and running errands, I said “screw it” and took a nap in the middle of the afternoon. It was awesome. Then, of course, as soon as I was up I had to do something useful to make up for it, haha. Progress? I’m not so sure….

I took Bella for a nice walk around the neighborhood to enjoy the nice late summer afternoon. She’s so sweet and absolutely LOVES to walk around and smell the grass (and the other dogs I’m guessing, because she marked her territory about 7 times).

Bella on walk

Last night’s dinner was surprisingly awesome! Riley got home late from golfing so I wasn’t sure when to make dinner. I decided to do this because I could throw the whole thing together in less than 20 minutes. I had a bag of cooked, frozen shrimp in the freezer that I really wanted to use and decided to do something different than what I usually cook. The end result is something I’ll definitely make again, and the best part is that it’s super healthy!

Shrimp rice Bowl 2

Sante Fe Shrimp & Rice Bowl

Serves 4. Cooking time: approximately 20 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound cooked shrimp, thawed
  • 1 green bell pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 package Archer Farms Southwest Inspired Corn & Black Beans (or any frozen mix of corn, black beans, red pepper and onions)
  • 1 package Uncle Ben’s 90 second rice (white or brown would work)
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder (or to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • Adobo seasoning, to taste
  • 1 lime
  • Light sour cream

1) Spray a pan with cooking spray and saute the veggies over medium heat for 5-7 minutes. Season with the chili powder, Adobo seasoning, salt, pepper, and juice of 1/2 a lime. Add the shrimp toward the end and heat through.

2) Heat up the rice in the microwave. You could cook rice from scratch, but this recipe is designed for people who don’t feel like doing that. 🙂

3) Spoon some of the rice into a bowl and top with shrimp and veggie mixture. Spoon a small dollop of sour cream on top and add a lime wedge for garnish. Enjoy!

Shrimp rice bowl

I can’t even tell you how easy this dinner was. Total calories came in somewhere around 350, so it’s definitely on the lighter side. It was perfect for a late summer evening when we didn’t want anything heavy. If I’d had a little more time to prepare, I would have added cilantro and a jalapeno, but this was really spur of the moment and I didn’t feel like running to the store. Honestly, the rice is really only 2-3 servings, but the shrimp and veggies will go pretty far. If you have tortillas on hand you have some super easy leftovers!

Now I’m off to the gym for some cardio and strength, then hitting up Target to buy some new deck chairs. Happy Saturday!

What are you up to today?

What’s your favorite 20-minute meal?

9 thoughts on “Santa Fe Shrimp and Rice Bowls

  1. Bella is so cute! 😀
    That dinner looks awesome! It does sound super easy, and I love all those spices. Maybe I should start keeping some frozen shrimp stocked!
    And so jealous of your afternoon nap! I used to try to take naps, but I can never fall asleep. I may try again today though. Just a few minutes would make such a difference!

  2. Ooohh that Santa Fe bowl remind me of something you’d get from chipotle! Sounds like it was delicious :). I also have trouble with relaxing. I have a habit (not sure if it’s good or bad!) of writing a to-do list and feeling aggravated when I can’t mark every part off. We’re such type A personalities haha!

  3. Looks like a great quick meal there! I like making stir frys or salads for something quick.

    I also have to force myself not to be go go go and also stop multitasking but it is an ongoing battle but I’m much better at it than what I used to be.

Leave a Reply

