Home » Daily food & workouts » Banana Nut Overnight Oats

Banana Nut Overnight Oats

Hey everyone! Glad Monday’s over? Me too. Yesterday was pretty rough and I think I took about 9 minutes to eat my lunch before getting back to work. Crazy day! I was grumpy about missing my workout and work has been hectic. I was ready to just write the day off as a wash when my friend Danielle texted to invite me over for dinner and Bachelorette. I said no at first, then I heard some magic words: steak and wine. Ok, sign me up!

I’m so glad I went over because it definitely turned my day around. She went all out and prepared a great dinner!

 

Apps

Side salad

Steak and potatoes

Such a great way to turn my Monday around!

Workout & Breakfast

Today I was itching to get to the gym since I missed it yesterday. I got up at 4:30 and got there right at opening time. After 35 minutes on the adaptive motion trainer, I spent some time working on my abs in the free area. I’m still pretty obsessed with the Jock Jams station on Pandora and got super excited when Everybody Dance Now came on. I was that crazy girl mouthing the words to the song and attempting to dance and work out at the same time. Seriously, I try to dance to everything. Tell me I’m not the only one that does that!

When I got home breakfast was super easy since I got it together last night- overnight oats! I just recently discovered this little gem of a breakfast and love how handy it is during the work week.

Banana Nut Oats

I used the same basic ingredients as last time with a few additions.

  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 container Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 banana
  • chopped walnuts
  • 1 drizzle of sugar-free maple syrup

The maple syrup was a nice touch and the walnuts added the crunch I needed. Another breakfast success!

Now I’m off to work for another super busy day. Luckily, I had the good sense to get my coffee pot set before I left yesterday so I’ll be ready to go when I walk in the door. Have a great Tuesday!

What are your favorite overnight oats toppings?

Do you rock out at the gym? Please say yes.

21 thoughts on “Banana Nut Overnight Oats

  1. 1. that dinner looks amazing, can i be friends with you and danielle?? 🙂 2. whenever i miss an early morning at the gym, i am always itching to get back the next morning too. you’d think it would be a nice break from waking up before dawn, but, nope. glad i have company in that way of thinking 🙂 and 3. YES i rock out so hard at the gym- if im on the treadmill and im really feeling the music ill start punching forward to the beat 🙂

  2. That was so sweet of your friend to cook you dinner! Sounds like a perfect evening.
    I’ve never tried overnight oats which I’m pretty sure makes me a total fraud in healthy living blogging land. Your version sounds so good, I love banana-nut flavor!
    I don’t have a gym membership but you better believe I rock out while I’m running outside! And of course, at home with my pup. 🙂

    • It is NOT the healthiest of ways, it’s a French technique I learned. It’s a salt crust (as salty as u like, I like semi) then pan sear on high to create a crispy crunch, and butter bast. Like I said, not super healthy but definitely yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

