Home » Daily food & workouts » Head to Toe Circuit Workout

Head to Toe Circuit Workout

We’re halfway through the week! I’m already on a roll today after finally get a great night’s sleep last night. I always sleep a lot better when I shut off all media 30 minutes before bedtime and just read quietly in bed. It makes a huge difference when I can calm my mind after a day of internet, tv, phones, etc.

Riley went golfing yesterday so I was on my own for dinner. I ended up making leftovers from my shrimp bowl the other night. I just heated them up and spooned the shrimp and veggies onto a whole wheat tortilla. I topped it off with a little cheese, sour cream, and some sriracha for extra kick. Nice and tasty!

shrimp bowl burrito

Workout & Breakfast

This morning I hit the gym ready to really get moving. Since I’ve been dragging a bit these past few days I was ready to push myself today. I tend to stick with a routine of cardio + 1 body part, but today I really wanted a circuit that worked multiple muscle groups at the same time. This helped me be super efficient and also kept my heart rate up the whole time. My cardio of choice today was running on the treadmill. I increased my speed every few minute until I was running at 8.5 mph.

Head to Toe Circuit Workout

The kettlebell I wanted was being used so I switched the kettlebell swings out for squats with the medicine ball. Here are links to some of the moves:

I learned from all your comments yesterday that dancing at the gym is a totally normal thing! So to the old man (the one who wears khakis to the gym? You know who you are…) who was giving me weird looks, please stop judging me.

After the gym, I was craving chocolate and peanut butter flavors. Fortunately, I have an awesome go-to recipe for a chocolate and peanut butter protein smoothie. It was the perfect day to make this smoothie too, since my banana was on it’s last leg. I have this weird thing where the second a banana starts to get spots, I don’t want it anymore. It’s incredibly wasteful, but I can’t help it. Luckily, my banana was saved and I avoided eating dessert for breakfast!

Chocolate peanut butter smoothie

I have a lot to do at the office, so I’m off to work. Have a great day!

Do you have any weird food quirks? I prefer to call my banana discrimination a “quirk”, because it sounds better than “neurotic habit”.

Do you crave healthy food after a workout or junk food?
I normally crave healthy food. One of the reasons I work out first thing is that is sets me up to eat healthy the whole day!

18 thoughts on “Head to Toe Circuit Workout

  1. I was in a workout slump as well and did a circuit as part of my workout yesterday! Yours looks fabulous :D. Don’t you love how quickly they go by and how sweaty you are at the end of them? That smoothie looks delicious. The perfect way to recharge after the gym 🙂

  2. HAHAHA the banana thing!!! If my husband read that he would crack up. I can’t tell you how many bananas I have let go to waste because I let them brown on the counter, and I just won’t eat them!! I can’t stand when they start turning brown! Yuck!

  3. Haha, I don’t see how anyone who wears khakis to the gym could judge you for dancing!
    That smoothie looks delicious! I try to peel and freeze the banana if it starts to look brown then use for it smoothies later.
    I can’t drink a glass of water if it’s been sitting out for a while because I’m worried it has stuff from the air in it. That’s probably a little neurotic!

  4. I have a magic bullet too. Is your smoothie thick-creamy-spoonable? I don’t want mine thin, but don’t want it gloopy or TOO thick either. But I find the magic bullet doesn’t mix ice up at all. How much milk and cubes do you use? Do you think using protein powder (how much is one scoop…20 or 30 grams) is okay for a non-athlete?
    I was thinking protein powder, nondairy mmilk, and maybe half and half berries and banana, maybe flax, not sure…suggestions on what order and how to do that in magic bullet to fit my criteria above? Thanks!!!

    • I’d probably add an extra banana to make that one thicker just cause it is a little thinner than others I’ve made. I think protein powder is great for anyone! I steer clear of the crazy body-builder type stuff, but I would head to a vitamin store or GNC to find out what they recommend for you protein-wise.
      I think all those ingredients you listed would make a good and filling smoothie. Maybe use frozen fruit instead of ice cubes since the Magic Bullet isn’t the best with ice!

  5. That workout looks like a good one, I’ve just pinned it to Pinterest so I can try it out 🙂

    I don’t think Mint and Chocolate should be together (this is my weird food quirk). I prefer mint as a flavour for gum only and chocolate to just be pure chocolate!

Leave a Reply

