Home » Daily food & workouts » Monday Motivation Musings

Monday Motivation Musings

It’s a new week! I’m enjoying my cereal with blueberries and peaches as I type up this post.

 

cereal

Since it’s Monday and the start of a new week, I’ve been thinking a lot about motivation this morning. I have some thoughts to share, but first let’s recap my weekend.

I was in desperate need of recharging this weekend so I could get motivated to start up another busy week. I spent a lot of time napping, lounging with Riley and the pets, eating some yummy food, and generally being a lazy bum. It was awesome! We went out for appetizers and wine Friday night at a local restaurant called Buon Amici. We enjoyed a crab cocktail, cheese calzone, and the fruit, cheese and bread platter.

Buon Amici

Here are some of my other yummy weekend meals:

Brunch eggs hash browns bacon

Brunch of eggs, maple bacon, home fries and biscuits.

Steak & sweet potatoSteak night from Saturday, with sweet potato and salad.

Workout

This morning started bright and early at 4:30! I was feeling refreshed from the weekend and was ready to get nice and sweaty. I ran for 25 minutes on the treadmill, switching between uphill running and sprinting. After my run I grabbed a kettlebell and some dumbbells to do the following circuit:

  • 15 Kettlebell swings
  • 15 Squats (holding kettlebell) with calf raises. Similar HERE.
  • 20 Donkey kicks (each side)
  • 15 Kettlebell swings- one handed, switch halfway through
  • 20 Front lunges with dumbbells
  • 20 Mountain climbers
  • 20 Side lunges with dumbbells

Ideally you should do that 3 times. I made it through twice before running out of time. It felt great to get sweaty after 2 days off!

Random Thoughts on Motivation

When I was at the gym the other day, an older man in his 70s who I see a lot approached me. He said he just had to ask how I stayed so dedicated to showing up to the gym at 5 AM most days when most people my age wouldn’t (he guessed me at 23. Bless you, fellow gym-goer). After talking with him, I looked around and realized that I am the youngest person working out at that time of day. Most people I know think I’m a crazy person and I regularly hear, “I could never get up early like you to work out!”. I honestly think people picture me getting out of bed like this:

https://i2.wp.com/www.wdwradio.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/gif-8.gif

A lot of people ask me HOW I manage to get up at 4:30 to work out. I can talk about setting clothes out the night before, or getting plenty of sleep, and that’s all good stuff. What I realized, however, is that it’s a lot more important to know WHY I get up to do it. When that alarm goes off and it’s pitch-black outside, If I didn’t have the right mindset, keeping a solid workout routine just wouldn’t happen.

Here are the top 3 reasons I get out of bed at 4:30 to get to work out:

  1. It’s the only time of the day that TRULY belongs to me. I don’t have to answer to anyone and no one expects anything from me. I also know it’s the only time of day I’m guaranteed to be free. When I get home in the evenings, all I want to do is relax!
  2. I really value being healthy and taking care of my body. Aside from my relationships, the two things I work every day to take care of are my health and my attitude. Working out is the best way to nurture both of those things and help me stay positive.
  3. My whole day is better when I’ve worked out. I make smarter food choices, I’m in a better mood, and I’m more productive at work. I never regret a workout!

And to all those people who ask, “doesn’t it suck to get up that early?” the answer is yes, it does suck, but only at first. Once I remind myself of the real reasons I work out, I’m able to get myself out of bed.  At the end of the day I figure out ways to fit it into my schedule because it’s important to me and it’s a part of who I am.

So happy Monday, everyone! Today’s the best day of the week to rediscover your motivation. And if you just can’t find any today, well, there’s always this option.

https://i1.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/f89860d4b586858fc1d9912a81e9b158/tumblr_mq42psb9On1strrceo1_500.gif

Have a great day!

What’s your biggest motivation to work out?

Have your reasons to work out changed over the years?

11 thoughts on “Monday Motivation Musings

  1. For me it is partially a habit to get up early and my body clock just wakes me up. It also means I definitely get my workout in, if I leave it till the end of the day there is always more of a chance I will work late or not be bothered. For me it puts me in a great mood and I love being able to see how I can push myself to be stronger / faster / better.

    Your workout looked like a great one, I love kettlebell swings 🙂

  2. LOVE hearing your reasons and motivations for getting up early. i def don’t get up as early as you do… i’ve been getting up at 5:30/545 which is TOUGH, but it’s similar for me… it’s the only time i really have to be able to devote to it. you are amazing!

  3. Everything look delicious! I love your reasons for going to the gym everyday. My main exercise motivation is the way I feel after my workout is over. I feel exhilarated and proud that I did something good for my body!

    By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check out my post on August 8th for details! 🙂

  4. I would love to be able to get myself out of bed at 4:30! What time do you usually go to bed when you wake up that early? Do you ever get tired later on in the day?

    • I have no life after 8 PM, haha. I was in bed at 9 last night. I usually hit a slump right around 8AM when I get to work, then after a cup of coffee and getting moving with stuff I end up being fine for the rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

