Home » Daily food & workouts » Leg Circuit and Garden Veggies

Leg Circuit and Garden Veggies

How’s your week going so far? My Monday was…well…it was definitely Monday. I knew it was going to be a long day when I walked out of the house without my cell phone and banged my head on my car door.

Luckily, I made it through the work day and my grocery shopping trip in time to salvage my evening at home with Riley. I picked up a rotisserie chicken from the store and let me tell you, it’s the best $5.99 you’ll ever spend on a Monday! I poured some honey mustard over the top and popped it in the oven for 20 minutes, then heated up some quick wild rice and served it with the chicken for dinner.

Honey Mustard Chicken

The real star of the show, however, was the garden salad. My mini garden is finally giving us some good veggies. It’s been a really rainy summer here, so the plants have taken their sweet time growing.

IMG_1391

Banana Peppers

IMG_1378

I put the following veggies into a huge salad bowl:

  • 1 Banana pepper, thinly sliced
  • 8 mini roma tomatoes
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • Approximately 4 cups romaine lettuce
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup red onion, thinly sliced
  • black pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup fat-free feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots

This salad was so fresh and the tomatoes and banana peppers from my garden made all the difference. There’s really nothing like home-grown tomatoes in the summer!

Garden Salad

I’m pretty pumped about the leftovers for lunch today! In addition to the banana peppers and tomatoes, my jalapenos and basil are also doing really well.

Workout & Breakfast

Today’s workout was an extra good one to make up for skipping the last two days. I got up bright and early (well, pitch-black actually…) at 4:30 and got myself to the gym ready to work hard.

I completed 25 minutes of cardio on the treadmill before hopping off to work my legs in the free area.

Speedy Legs & Butt Circuit

I absolutely LOVE working my legs at the gym and squats are probably my favorite move. I was definitely feeling the burn by the end of this workout! I think the 25 squats were a tad ambitious, cause by the end I only squeezed out 15 on the last set. Or I just got lazy. I tend to do that when I realize the only one counting my reps is me. Oh well. 🙂

For breakfast I poured a bowl of Kashi cereal topped with a banana, chia seeds, some dried cranberries and unsweetened almond milk.

Kashi Cereal

Now I’m off to work for another busy day. Have a good one!!

Did you work out today? What’s your favorite dinner food that’s quick and healthy? Do you have a garden?

25 thoughts on “Leg Circuit and Garden Veggies

  1. Oh, girl, I don’t have a garden (and I may have an issue remembering to water things, so everything I’ve tried to grow has died), but you just made me really want to start one. Nothing beats fresh veggies that you’ve grown yourself! Joe’s mom has a garden, and she gave us a bunch of produce last summer…easily the best things I had eaten all year! I’m secretly hoping she’ll give us some more soon 😉 My workout today was an 8 mile run followed by a quick core circuit and my PT exercises for my legs/knees. I LOVE the look of this leg workout….squats and lunges are my moves of choice when working on my lower body, so I am definitely giving this a try tomorrow morning 🙂

  2. My comments tend to delete themselves a lot lately, so if you already got one from me, i apologize for the second. (unfortunately it deleted so this one is going to be a little differnt anyways) i was just saying that your dinner looks delicious! I love me some honey mustard 🙂 and your salad looks gorgeous and so so fresh!! and i prefer working legs at the gym too. by far my favorite part of the body to train. have a great tuesday!

  3. Hi there, I’m so happy I’ve just discovered your blog! It’s truly wonderful. The salad looks beyond fantastic and I’m dying to try the workout, I love working my legs and I’m always looking for new leg workouts to try!
    My garden is like huge, we have like 50 plants of everything, so new salad recipes like this one are always welcome! I like to make ratatouille with our vegetables, it’s quick, easy, healthy and delish yum! But next time I’ll be trying your salad c:

  4. Your garden is so impressive Kelly! It must have felt so good to eat a salad that you grew from your own backyard.
    I love that workout too! I am also guilty of cheating when it’s just me. That’s the problem with working out at home but I try to stay motivated and force myself to get through it!

  5. Your salad looks so refreshing and healthy 🙂 We are regretting that we didn’t set up a garden this year, so it will have to wait until next year! Home grown veggies are the BEST! Sorry you had a blah Monday!! Hope today was better!!

  6. Your salad looks amazing! (And is making me crave banana peppers!) I’m in an apartment so can’t have a garden of my own but fortunately my office has a huge garden I can take advantage of. It has been giving me the most amazing fresh cucumbers and tomatoes lately.

  7. Oh wow your salad looks amazing! And I bet it tasted just as good! Nothing better than fresh veggies, especially locally grown ones – and you dont get more local than your own garden! 🙂

Leave a Reply

