Home » Daily food & workouts » Running Away

Running Away

Good morning! We’re halfway through the week and I hope all of you are doing well so far!

First up, I have a Twitter! This is really exciting because I’ve never used it before. As evidenced by the conversation that took place at work yesterday in a co-worker’s office with the other girls.

Me: “Hey you guys! You guys, I need to learn how to Twitter. Will one of you teach me to Twitter?!”

The girls (trying to hide their laughter): “I think you mean tweet…..”

I’m not ancient, I promise. Anyway, I can TWEET now, so follow me!

Yesterday was a busy day at work, broken up by a fun lunch at our University President’s house. We had a “Young Professionals” BYO lunch on his back patio and it was nice to actually leave my office for an hour! I brought some pasta with spinach, chicken, feta cheese, and tomatoes.

Pasta Salad with Chicken

It was so yummy!Β  I loved the views of the James River and it was great to mingle with the staff I know and also meet some new people. I would never leave my house if I had this backyard!

James River View

Workout & Breakfast

This morning I did off with some ladder intervals on the treadmill.

Ladder Treadmill Workout

Breakfast was a simple bowl of cereal topped with dried cranberries, fresh blueberries, and chia seeds.

Bluberry Chia Cereal

I got totally called out by one of the guys at my gym while I was stretching. He said, “just gonna run today, huh?” I tried really hard not to glare him and said, “yep….looks like it…” Call the workout police, cause I didn’t get there until 5:15 and had to cut my workout a tad short. Here’s to “just” running. Speaking of….

Running Away

Ready for some inspiration? Good. I bet you’re wondering about today’s title. While I was running this morning, Runaway by Kanye West came on my playlist. The lyrics have absolutely nothing to do with this post (except for the word runaway), but the beat is awesome for running and it put me into such a great zone.

While I was listening to this song and my feet were running in perfect synch with the music, I had a realization about why running has become so crucial to my week. What is it about working up a sweat that makes everything better? The truth is, the feeling I get from running is pretty much essential to me at this point.

As many of you know, I got promoted over the summer. I absolutely LOVE my job, my co-workers and friends, my husband, my pets, blah blah blah. I freaking love my life. Gag if you want to, but I’m really happy; however, I’m also a 28 year-old, type A woman who works 40-60 hours a week (depending on the week) and commutes 45 minutes each way. Most weeks, I’m gone nearly 11 hours a day. This comes with some stresses that have the potential to turn me into a crazy person.

If I’m not 10 minutes early to work, I feel guilty….. If I don’t finish everything on my to-do list, I feel guilty…… If I pawn dinner off on Riley more than 2-3 nights a week, I feel guilty…… If I’m not always “on” and happy happy happy, I feel guilty. It’s exhausting.

But when I run….

When I run, I am perfect. Just the way I am.

Running Freedom

Whether I’m having a fast running day or a slow day, it doesn’t matter. My body is doing amazing things and I feel strong. I can run away from the stress, the guilt, the pressure to do everything with a smile and an impeccable attitude.

And wouldn’t you know. By the time my run is over, I feel as though I’m enough. All those little stresses that creep into my mind throughout the week become inconsequential. I know that whatever life throws at me, I can handle it, and that my smile will always be genuine. I’m an eternal optimist, and the glorious one hour a day that I have with my sneakers and headphones is what makes that possible.

So go for a run. Run for 30 minutes, an hour, or two hours (kudos, if you’re that person). Run away from the petty things that make you feel like you’re anything less than amazing. We’ll be here when you get back.

Happy Wednesday everyone! πŸ™‚

What do you run for?

34 thoughts on “Running Away

  1. ahh i still need to join twitter. im the worst at social media, its amazing i even have a blog to be honest πŸ™‚ for me working out is essential to my sanity. (i feel guilty if im not 10 minutes early to work too!!) without my morning barre class, i get out of sorts, everything is suddenly a bigger deal than it should be, i stress more, im less productive, and i swear i even think slower, etc etc. i honestly dont get people who never work out.

  2. I love this post! Totally agree on using running as an escape. It’s me time where no one can bother me! Plus no one is awake when I’m running anyway πŸ˜‰

    Welcome to twitter lady. Sooo funny cause my coworker came to me the other day to learn how to tweet. Explaining hashtagging was a hilarious convo. Don’t love my job but my coworkers entirely make up for it!

  3. This is a great post Kelly! I can completely relate to how you feel. I feel so grateful to have a job and a life that keeps me so busy but it gets overwhelming trying to keep up sometimes. We are so lucky to be healthy enough to run and it is a great way to escape the stress and reconnect. I haven’t reached the point where running long distances has become relaxing for me but I hope to soon. Thanks for the inspiration! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Kelly! I just found your blog! I love this post – its so true! I too just started on Twitter and needed my friend to give me a run down on what everything meant haha!

  5. I couldn’t have said it better myself, love. Running centers and frees me. It helps me let go and figure out exactly what’s bothering me. It keeps me sane and alive and happy. It reminds me how strong I am, how far I’ve come, and how much more I am capable of if I believe in myseld and take a chance. Nothing more or less πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, I love this. You seriously took the words right out of my mouth. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been upset, or stressed, or angry and just HAD to go run. When I run, it all goes away. I’m in the moment, and all that matters is ME. One time I was so stressed my husband told me to go run and come home only when I felt better…so I ran for like an hour! πŸ™‚ It’s very true though, running is a great way to release your feelings. There’s nothing wrong with being happy with your life..I’m happy for you πŸ™‚

  7. I feel like all the reasons you listed about why you run also apply to me! i feel calmer, happier and more accomplished throughout the day when i get my morning run in. If I skip a planned run, I feel guilty and lazy (unless I’m skipping for a legitimate reason- like being too sore for a challenging long run). I also love the challenge of striving to go a little bit further or a little bit faster! There’s always room for improvement, so I can always keep changing my goals πŸ™‚

  8. I totally agree! Running is my stress relief. As a full time accountant, full time mother to three & full time wife it is absolutely totally worth it to me (and necessary) to wake up at the stupid early time of 5am so I can run, even when its winter & below freezing (I live in Canada). I also find that I feel better about myself – especially my body image – on the days I run. And who doesn’t want to feel sexier?

    Thanks for this post!

  9. Love that quote at the end.. it is one of my favorites πŸ™‚
    Welcome to the twitter world. I always said I’d NEVER do it but uhm, yeah… about that!

  10. Love the concept of running away! It’s why I started running to begin with, and often times my favorite runs are the ones that I go into fully aware I have a bucket of crap to deal with when I get back. Great post!

Leave a Reply

