Home » Daily food & workouts » Easy Chicken Parmesan

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Hey there! Just popping in to post a quick recipe that I made the other night. I’m not a huge fan of spending more than 30 minutes cooking, and typically cooking is the torture I go through in order to get to the eating part. I don’t find peace, relaxation, or joy from spending time on my feet slaving over a stove when I could be drinking wine on my recliner. I know ton of people who DO love cooking in that way, but I’m just not one of them.

That said, I like to think I’m actually really good at cooking my favorite comfort food: pasta. Yes, I know. Anyone can boil pasta, but I promise my version is better than average!

What I made the other day is tasty, not super complicated, and also not terrible for you (depends on how liberal you are with the cheese….).

Chicken Parmesan

Easy Chicken Parmesan

Ingredients

  • 6-8 pre-cooked and breaded chicken tenders. I recommend Trader Joe’s because there are no processed ingredients and they’re not high in sodium.
  • 3/4 box of penne or rotini pasta. I used the tri-colored kind. It’s not healthier, but it LOOKS healthier and that matters.
  • 1 large can tomato sauce
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • Β Spices, to taste. I used: red pepper flakes, Italian seasoning, oregano, salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  • 4 ounces grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees and chop all your veggies.

2) When the oven heats up, lay the chicken tenders on a cooking sheet sprayed with cooking spray and bake for 15-17 minutes.

3) Meanwhile, put a pot of salted water on the stove to boil and heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a pan over medium heat

4) Put diced onion, garlic, and bell pepper in the pan and saute for 5-7 minutes. Add the tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, and spices. Reduce to low heat

5) Once water is boiling, add pasta and cook until al dente. Drain pasta, then take out chicken tenders when they’re done

6) In a casserole dish, add the pasta, top with chicken tenders (evenly spaced), and pour tomato sauce over the top. Top with the two cheeses

7) Bake for 20 minutes at 350 until cheese is browned on top. If it’s not browned, turn the broiler on high for a minute or two until cheese gets just a tad crispy

Enjoy!

I love this dish because it’s total comfort food for me. I can eat some cheesy pasta with a chunk of break and a glass of wine ALL day. It never gets old for me!

Well, now I’m off to work super early to help out with a community service day for our newest freshmen on campus. I get to help out at the SPCA today so I’m super excited. DON’T let me adopt a dog because my husband (and Coco and Bella) would kill me! I want a pit bull really bad. Like, REALLY bad. So I’ll restrain myself for now. Have a great day!

What’s your go-to comfort food?

What’s your favorite kind of dog?

21 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Parmesan

  1. Hahaha you sound like me with cooking. I’ve gotten really spoiled with joe home, though…he likes to cook and is really good at it, so when i have to make something i go with pancakes, cereal or annies mac and cheese πŸ˜› this looks delicious! Might have to try this one night πŸ™‚ and pugs are my fav dog…hope to get one in the next few years πŸ™‚

  2. My husband would love this recipe! (with liberal amounts of cheese, of course!) I do love to cook, but really only for other people. When it’s just me, pass me a wedge of brie, a baguette, and a glass of wine, and I’m a happy girl! Pasta is a close second for my favorite comfort food, though, especially linguine and clams.

  3. I looooooove chicken parm! My stomach hates me when I eat cheese though 😦 I’m thinking I could probably substitute Daiya (vegan cheese) and this would be equally as good! Thank you for the recipe lady!

    I cannot wait for the day I get my goldendoodle! Already have a name picked out and everything!

Leave a Reply

