Home » Food & Recipes » 20-Minute Steak & Rice

20-Minute Steak & Rice

Hey Everyone! I wanted to post a meal we Riley made the other night. My work weeks are crazy these days and cooking a huge dinner is not really an option.

Several weeks ago, the folks at Tasty Bite sent me some samples of their products to try. I’m a huge fan of convenience food that doesn’t have a whole bunch of crap in it, so of course I was excited to try them! They have all real ingredients, they’re not high in sodium, and they only take 90 seconds to cook. No brainer for me since I’m the ultimate lazy cook. I was excited about the rice and the Asian noodles. I was not too excited about the Indian options, however. I’ve just never really loved Indian food. Maybe I’ll get brave soon?

Tasty Bite

Since time was of the essence (I’m usually STARVING as soon as I get home from work), Riley whipped this up in less than 20 minutes. Another perk? This whole dinner costs around $6.

20 Minute Steak & RIce

  • 1 package steak bites (I picked these up in the meat section at Food Lion on sale for less than $2.50)
  • 1 packet Tasty Bite Thai Lime Rice with coconut and lemongrass
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • Extra virgin olive oil (just a drizzle)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Sriracha (optional)

onion and pepper

Just saute and season the onion and pepper until soft, then throw in the steak bites until cooked through. Heat the rice in the microwave for 90 seconds. Combine in a bowl and top with sriracha if you want a little kick!

Steak and Rice

I feel like I can’t even call this a real recipe, because it’s just so simple. The dinner turned out really tasty, though! You could definitely use chicken or tofu if you’re vegetarian. I was skeptical of the Thai Lime rice because of the lemongrass flavor (I don’t know why, but it just sounded weird), but once I tried it I was definitely happy! The rice didn’t blow my mind (Not that I’ve EVER had mind-blowing rice before), but it was perfect for a quick and flavorful dinner.

I think the rices are nice to buy if you want a flavored rice that doesn’t have any artificial ingredients. Usually I have to buy plain rice and jazz it up myself to avoid all the added sodium and junk. I was disappointed in the fact that none of the stores around me carry the products, however. Guess I’ll just have to spread those 6 freebies out!

Workout & Breakfast

On to the good stuff! I usually take Mondays off from the gym because, let’s face it, Monday is already hard enough. Adding in a 4:30 AM wake-up call is no bueno.

This morning, however, I was ready to hit the gym and get moving! I hopped on the treadmill for 30 minutes and got some nice running in.ย  After my run I had about 15 minutes left so I headed over to the weight machines and worked my upper body. I did a few sets of the following:

  • Seated rows
  • Overhead presses
  • Triceps extensions
  • Bicep curls
  • Chest presses
  • Standing rows
  • Pushups

Nothing fancy, but it got the job done in the time I had left!

Today’s breakfast was another breakfast sandwich from yesterday. I scarfed it before I could take a picture, but it’s literally the same thing I ate yesterday.

I guess that means it’s time to go to work! I’ve got a full day of meetings and a long to-do list, so off I go!

Have a great day!

Have you ever tried Tasty Bites products?

Do you like Indian food?

15 thoughts on “20-Minute Steak & Rice

  1. I do like Indian Food but my stomach /digestion doesn’t always love me afterwards. I find spicy foods just don’t sit well.

    This looks like such a quick yet delicious meal.

    4.30am?? Wow no chance I could do that.

  2. Prepackaged rice can make any meal so much easier!
    I love Indian food but I only eat it out at authentic Indian restaurants. The packaged version just look wrong. Really, there is nothing better than the fresh, warm naan they serve at Indian restaurant. Ugh, so good.

Leave a Reply

