Home » Food & Recipes » The Will to Win

The Will to Win

Oh heeey blogger-land! We’re halfway through the week and so far so good!

On my way home from work yesterday, I asked my co-worker “what am I gonna blog about tomorrow? Nothing really exciting happened…”Β In general, I was lacking some inspiration.

Then I watched the ESPN story on this guy:

RG3

As you may or may not know, I’m a big Washington Redskins fan. Robert Griffin III is such an incredible athlete and his injury last season was devastating to us fans. ESPN did a documentary on his surgery and recovery and I was SO impressed! His motivation and drive is unreal. When some people thought he might not be able to even play football, he’s now set to play in the opening game this season. I’ll be out of town for work when that first game airs, but you better believe I’m taking my jersey with me to watch it!

61353_873994141889_965430292_n

Sadly, Bella will not be coming with me.

Last night’s documentary totally motivated me this morning! When the alarm went off at 4:30, it didn’t really bother me and I was up and at the gym right when it opened.

My workout left me super sweaty! I hopped on the treadmill, set the incline to 8% and alternated 60 second intervals (3.5 mph and 6.0 mph). I did this for 15 minutes before grabbing a kettlebell and a medicine ball in the free area to do this workout.

Will to Win Circuit

Like what I did there with the Redskins colors? Well, close enough anyway. I finished off my workout with another 10 minutes on the cross-trainer before stretching and cooling down. Whew! I feel super accomplished.

When I got home I was too hot for a breakfast sandwich again, so I whipped up a quick smoothie. A favorite combo of mine is chocolate, peanut butter and banana. Into the blender went-

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 generous spoonful of peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate almond milk
  • 2-3 ice cubes

Chocolate Peanut Butter Shake

Mmmm, tastes like a milkshake. Seriously, I used to make this with vanilla almond milk and I thought it was good. I had no idea! Dark chocolate almond milk for the win. I could convince Riley this was dessert, that’s how good it is. It also packs in around 25 grams of protein and more than double your daily calcium requirement, which was perfect for after that workout.

Now I’m off to work. Happy Wednesday!

Do you watch football? Who’s your team?

What’s motivating you today?

31 thoughts on “The Will to Win

  1. Is it corny that MLK’s I have a dream speech 50th anniversary is motivating me today? Regardless, what beautiful words he had to share! If that doesn’t motivate you to love and just be a better person, I don’t know what does!

  2. Now i’m craving a chocolate “milkshake!” I looove football. Ohio State Buckeyes all the way! So excited for college football to start this weekend. I don’t really have an NFL team, but I do play fantasy football!

  3. RG III is the man! A&M played Baylor when he was on the team and he’s such a great guy. You can’t help but love him.

    I like the Giants for NFL but I’m not a crazy fan. Funny story- our (Brandon and I) first home in Florida was painted in Redskin colors when we moved in. A bright yellow kitchen- it was so awful!
    The colors are much better suited for that rockin’ workout! πŸ™‚

  4. He really is quite inspirational! I always play fantasy football (and I hope this doesn’t sound shallow) but he was my QB last year and I was devastated when he got injured because he was SOOOOO good! Can’t wait until I see his comeback!

  5. I’m a Canadian living in Colorado so hockey is much more my sport… but my husband is crazy about football. We’re actually going to a Bronco’s game tomorrow night and have tickets to a few games this season so maybe I’ll convert and become a football fan. That’s his wish!

  6. Your smoothie looks delicious! Can’t wait to try it out. I’m a huge Packer fan. Even though I’m sad summer is ending, I’m so pumped about football starting up again πŸ™‚
    Question: What program do you use to make your workout picture look so pretty?! I’ve been using notepad on my iPhone and haven’t been able to find something “cool” to post my workouts on it. Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Banana Smoothie and Abs Workout | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

