Home » Food & Recipes » Banana Smoothie and Abs Workout

Banana Smoothie and Abs Workout

Good morning! It’s finally Friday and I’m super excited to be heading into a 3-day weekend. Work will start picking up big time for me soon, so I’m going to enjoy every second of this time off.

Workout & Breakfast

This morning the alarm went off at 4:30 and I got to the gym right at 5:00. I didn’t really feel like running today so I got on the adaptive motion trainer and did 35 minutes of cardio, cranking the resistance up super high.

After my cardio, I grabbed a medicine ball and did this 10-minute abs workout:

10 minute abs

Here are some of the moves that you may not know:

Heel Touches

Suitcase Crunches

Kick Downs

Nice and quick, but I could definitely feel it in my abs by the time I was done! On a side note, my least favorite part of any ab workout is doing planks. Does anyone else hate them? I know, I know, best exercise you can do for your abs, blah blah blah. Planks suck. Anyone with me on that? Well, moving on…

After my shower, I made a quick smoothie for breakfast.

Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

I used:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2-3 ice cubes
  • 1 container banana cream flavored Greek yogurt
  • 1 spoonful peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk

Super tasty, buuuut not gonna lie the chocolate one I made the other day was a lot better. And I think we all know why.

Now I’ve gotta run to get to work, but HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

What’s your favorite/least favorite ab exercise?

What are you weekend plans?

21 thoughts on “Banana Smoothie and Abs Workout

  1. lol i love your honesty regards to planks! i actually dont mind that them thaaat much. the ab excercise i really dont like is anything that makes my neck start hurting. it takes all the fun out of it for me. and this weekend ill be at the beach celebrating my friends 30th. woohoo! have a great long weekend!!

  2. I am having such smoothie troubles. My Cusinart blender does not do frozen and my Magic Bullet is bust! I can’t remember… do you use a Magic Bullet?

    • I have a magic bullet, which is great for 1-serving stuff. It doesn’t do ice cubes very well, however, so I end up using a lot of frozen fruit instead. I like the fact that there’s minimal cleanup.

  3. Happy Friday!! I am totally looking forward to this weekend – we decided to make it an extra long weekend and both took off Tuesday too!! Headed to the Lake tonight after work – only 5 more hours. 😉

  4. My boyfriend and I have plans to go to a nice restaurant tonight which should be fun.

    I’ve never heard of suitcase crunches before but they sound interesting. I love ab roll outs using a swiss ball and sit ups with a medicine ball. I HATE with a passion side planks. Normal planks are ok but side planks not so much!

  5. Pingback: Staying Warm | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

