Home » Daily food & workouts » A Weekend of Workouts

A Weekend of Workouts

Happy Labor Day!! I hope you’ve all been enjoying the lovely 3-day weekend. I’ve spent most of the weekend relaxing, but I did get in some great workouts as well.

Saturday I got up and popped in a breakfast casserole that I prepped the night before. Riley’s brother was in town for their Fantasy Football draft and so they all stayed at a friend’s house on Friday. Yep, you read that right. My grown-up husband had a man sleepover with his friends so they could make fake football teams.  Anyway, I figured they’d be a little worse for the wear come Saturday morning, so I had a yummy turkey sausage casserole in the oven when they got home. I didn’t get to take a picture before everyone dug in, but it’s the same one I made a couple weeks ago.

Saturday afternoon I hit the gym for some running and leg work in the weights area. It was nice to take my time and I basically had the gym to myself. I don’t know if that makes me the loser that spent her Labor Day weekend Saturday at the gym instead of at a BBQ or something, but I didn’t really care.

Saturday night Riley grilled some bratwurst and I made a salad of black beans, corn, avocado and some other yummy stuff. I’ll post the recipe later this week. To keep the dinner a little healthier, I skipped the bun and the homemade french fries and went for some baked sweet potato fries instead. Super tasty dinner!

Saturday dinner

Sunday morning I got up and headed to Colonial Williamsburg to run. It’s become my weekly Sunday morning run lately and I love how pretty it is.

Colonial Williamsburg House

CW House 2

CW Sheep 2

Yesterday’s run was more of a run/walk for a couple reasons. First, I did leg day on Saturday and was really stiff. Second, the humidity was ridiculous! I was dripping sweat by the time I hit the one mile mark. I spent a good 10 minutes checking all the barrels they have around town to try to find the one with the secret water fountain. Williamsburg problems. In the end, I probably covered about 3 miles.

Today’s workout was a new one for me. I took my first Barre fitness class! Fun fact: I was a dance minor in college. In addition to doing a lot of theater, I spent a ton of time in the dance studio. Can you spot me in the pic below?

Music Man

That pic was from my sophomore year when we did Music Man. I’m the 4th from the right.

Anyway, I hadn’t danced in forever and when I saw that a studio in Williamsburg offered Barre classes, I signed up for one right away! The class was at an adorable studio called Studio South, where they also offer hot yoga. The studio was so cute inside and they had tea and fruit for anyone who wanted it. The teacher also brought champagne and orange juice for anyone who wanted a mimosa afterwards. I’d like to know if the mimosa part is a regular thing or just for Labor Day. That may influence my decision to buy a class package.

I loved the class! It worked muscles that I probably haven’t used in 6 years, when I last took a dance class. There were only 5 other girls in the class so it was nice and personal. I really want to go back!

Finally, to round out this little post, let’s say a big ol’ welcome to September! I don’t know about you, but I’m super excited for fall, especially pumpkin-y things! Starbucks starts serving Pumpkin Spice lattes tomorrow. That should be the real holiday. For those of you who just can’t wait, you can get one today using a secret code. I may be making a Starbucks run later!

I’m off to shower and look up some recipes on Pinterest. Not really sure why, but I feel like baking something with blueberries. Suggestions are welcome!

What have you been up to this weekend?

Do you take Barre classes?

Got any good blueberry recipes?

 

8 thoughts on “A Weekend of Workouts

  1. Wow I’m super jealous of your running route! I love Colonial Williamsburg! Do they ever have races there? I live in Philly but I would totally make a trip down for that!

  2. What a pretty spot to go for a run!
    I’m dying to try a Barre class. It looks like such a great workout and I’m sure it was easier for you since you have a background in dance.
    Looks like you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

