Home » Food & Recipes » Make-ahead Breakfast Sandwiches

Make-ahead Breakfast Sandwiches

Well, I guess the fun’s over. Back to work, everybody! Did you have a good labor day? I did something yesterday that I’m very proud of- I prepped stuff for the week! This basically never happens, but for some reason I was on some kind of domestic kick yesterday. Here’s what I did:

1) Made some homemade banana nut bread. Recipe from Simply Recipes. I swapped most of the sugar for Splenda to cut down on the sugar and added walnuts, but otherwise followed the whole recipe. I learned a tip, for those of you that make anything required mashed bananas. Squeeze the banana while it’s still in the peel and mash it that way. When you open up the banana, all the mashing is already done!

Banana Bread Ingredients

Banana Bread

2) I cut up some peppers, onions, and cucumbers for easy access for recipes and salads.

Prepped veggies

3) Made a marinade for flank steak to freeze for later. I tweaked a recipe from Martha Stewart’s book, Great Food Fast. This book is amazing. It’s chock-full of easy and simple recipes and divided up by season. I highly recommend it!

Flank steak marinade ingredients

Flank steak marinade

I got the genius idea to throw the steak in the freezer with the marinade already done so that on the day I want to make it, all I have to do is take it out to thaw. That way, the marinade will be able to work all day and I’ll have nothing left to do except give it to Riley to grill!

4) I made more breakfast sandwiches for the week. I love these things, especially for how much time they save in the mornings!

Make-Ahead Breakfast Sandwiches

Ingredients-

  • 6 English muffins
  • 6 eggs
  • 18 slices of ham
  • 6 slices of cheese- I used 3 pepper jack and 3 white cheddar

Step one: Preheat oven to 350 and crack some eggs into a muffin pan. An oversize muffin pan would probably be best, but all I had was regular size.

Breakfast sandwich step 1

Step 2) give the eggs a little swish with a fork and bake until set, about 15 minutes.

Breakfast sandwich step 2

Step 3) lay out the English muffins and put 3 slices of ham on each one. Top with an egg and slice of cheese. Wrap in a paper towel and put each sandwich in a plastic bag. Keep in the fridge or freeze for later. I keep mine in the fridge since Riley eats them too, so they don’t last very long.

Breakfast sandwich step 3

I know the eggs look small for the sandwich, but they do squish down and will be fine by the time you eat it. Just microwave for about 1 minute, 30 seconds and you’re good to go!

Breakfast Sandwich Packed

And voila, I’m a domestic goddess! Ha.

All of this only took me about 1 1/2 hours from start to finish. Once the banana bread was in the oven it took an hour and by the time it came out I was pretty much done.

I now feel prepared to embark on what promises to be a completely crazy week. I have 23 new student employees starting work this week so I’ll have my hands full pretty much every day. Guess I should have added “stock the wine bar” to my list of prep work!

Have a great Tuesday and I’ll catch you later!

What was the highlight of your long weekend?

Do you prep food for the week?

15 thoughts on “Make-ahead Breakfast Sandwiches

  1. What an awesome idea! That will definitely save you some time in the morning this week. I always make a few baggies of fruit, veggies, etc. and put them in the freezer for easy smoothies. I also make a big pot of chili, soup, or sitrfry for easy lunches throughout the week.

  2. Ugh, this morning was a rude wake up call. Back to reality! πŸ™‚
    Those breakfast sandwiches are so cute! I love that idea.

  3. What a great idea to make breakfast sandwiches ahead of time! I dont usually make them, but Scott loves them and usually makes them every morning. This would save him a lot of time (and same me a lot of time not having to clean up all of his crumbs!)

  4. Pingback: Homecoming and other weekend fun | Kelly Runs for Food

  5. Pingback: Fabulous date night and turning 29 | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

