Home » Daily food & workouts » On The Road Again

On The Road Again

Happy Monday, blogger land! I hope you all had a restful and fun weekend.

I was able to get out of work early on Friday to get ready for a girl’s night with my friend Danielle. I made a delicious dinner of Caprese chicken (recipe coming later!), sauteed zucchini, and some delicious rosemary bread with dipping oil.

Bread and olive oil

Caprese Chicken on Plate

Sauteed Zucchini

It was delicious and a great way to kick off the weekend!

Saturday and Sunday were spent relaxing, running errands, household chores, and getting all caught up on Breaking Bad. I know, I’m really exciting. I did get in my Sunday run in Colonial Williamsburg yesterday and covered 3 miles.

CW Old house

I’m loving this little Sunday morning ritual and can’t wait until the cooler weather rolls in and Williamsburg gets all fall-ish outside!

It’s officially football season, so that means I have the house to myself every Sunday. Riley and his friends have a weekly tradition of getting together, making lots of food, and watching the games all afternoon. Some days I miss not having him around and other days I welcome having some rare alone time.

Yesterday I used the alone time to get the house in order and do my laundry. I also made some quick butternut squash soup.

Butternut squash soup1

Butternut squash 3

I bought some steam-in-the-bag butternut squash from Target a while back and decided to alter the recipe they gave on the package.

I steamed the squash in the microwave and sauteed some diced onion in a small pot. Once the onion was cooked down I added some chicken stock, the cooked squash, a dash of nutmeg, and some pepper. Once it was heated, I used my immersion blender to puree the mixture, then took it off the heat and added a generous dollop of fat-free, plain Greek yogurt (probably about a cup’s worth).

Once in the bowl I topped it with some chopped bacon and another dollop of Greek yogurt. I have to say, it was pretty good for being spur of the moment! It didn’t really blow my socks off, but I could definitely play around with it if I tried again.

Hitting The Road

Today marks the beginning of the official fall travel season at work. Working in college admission means I travel about 5-6 weeks a year visiting high schools and doing college fairs. I actually really love it! I love the change in pace and getting out of the office for a while.

This trip I’m headed down to Charlotte, NC, for the next few days. Charlotte is by far one of my favorite places to visit. The people there are so nice and there’s a ton to do. I’m hoping to check out some new places in town this year, so if anyone’s from the area and has any good tips, let me know!

I laid in bed this morning for about 30 minutes until my cat start meowing at the door. Coco has this sense of when I’m being lazy and always knows just when to start bugging me to get up! Since I stayed in bed too long, I didn’t make it to the gym, which is fine since I usually take Monday off anyway.

For breakfast, I poured a bowl of cereal and topped it with peanut butter and sliced bananas. Simple and easy!

cereal with pb

Well, I’m off to pick up my rental car and pack, then I’m hitting the road. My goals is to be settled in my hotel before the big Redskins game tonight. I’m so excited to watch the first game!

Have a great day!

Do you travel for work?

What was your favorite meal of the weekend?

18 thoughts on “On The Road Again

  1. Yep as a Consultant it can mean depending on the project at a moments notice I can be told pack your bags you are now going to here. I didn’t mind it but for me it is all about being able to quickly set a routine wherever I am.

    Although we are in Australia my boyfriend is a huge NFL fan so your Sundays of no Riley are my Monday nights with no boyfriend as he is watching the football now too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh fun! I think it’d be great to travel for work esp to neat places like Charlotte…but i would imagine it can be difficult at times, too, to leave your home and man a lot. I hope you have a great trip!

  3. My husband is not really into sports at all so I have never had to deal with things like that, but I don’t think it would be too shabby to have the house to myself every Sunday! I have never been to Charlotte, but I have heard it is great. Have a great week!

  4. Oh williamsburg would be a fun place to run through! I’ve been there a couple times before, and its definitely a cool little place. Have fun in Charlotte! I was there literally for one day for work, so I didn’t get to see very much to offer any suggestions :(.

  5. Have fun and travel safe!! I don’t do any traveling for work . . . although I think it would be a lot of fun!! And butternut squash soup is so fall. Love it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I made a pinterest recipe for cheesebuger casserole that was delicious – tasted just like a cheeseburger!!

  6. What? They don’t invite the wives to the football shindig? That’s no fun.

    I love butternut squash soup. It’s perfect for fall! I hope your travels for work go smoothly. That ought to make for some interesting eats at least. Haha- I’m envisioning you as Tina Fey in the movie Admissions now. Have you seen it yet? It’s so funny.

  7. Charlotte, NC sounds like a nice work trip to me. I will be traveling to Chicago in about a month for work–my first work trip! I’m hoping I’ll have enough time to explore. Also, I used to work in an admissions office as a student worker and remember all of the counselors being gone around this time of year and thinking how fun it would be to get to travel for a couple months or so. Once you work a 9-5, any change of pace is great, if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

