Home » Life » Fall Weekends Are The Best

Fall Weekends Are The Best

It’s Monday already? Nooooo, I was really enjoying myself! The weather here in Williamsburg was a huge treat this weekend. Sunny both days and temperatures in the mid-high 70’s. It doesn’t get much better than that for me. Here’s a little taste of what I was up to the past couple days. Get ready for a bunch of pics!

Saturday Date Night

Saturday I got up nice and early to walk Bella, then Riley and I cleaned our cars and took care of some other chores. Saturday evening, we went out to dinner at Bonefish Grill. I was excited to put on something other than work clothes and gym clothes!

Date Night Outfit

We had a couple of their seasonal cocktails before getting called for our table. Once we were seated, I dug into the bread and dipping oil! Mmmm, I do love a good bread basket (or plate, I guess). Every time I see healthy tips for eating out that include, “always turn down the bread basket!” it makes me sad inside. That’s a rule I will never abide by. Ever. Carbs for life.

Bonefish Collage

For dinner, I got their Longfin Imperial Tilapia, which had a lemon caper butter sauce on top. Holy cow, it was so good.

Longfin Imperial Tilapia

I managed to get through 3/4 of the plate before getting full. We were so full after our meal, in fact, that we decided to skip the post-dinner drinks and went straight home to get in our comfy clothes. A few years ago, being home by 9:00 on date night would have been disappointing. These days, not so much! I was totally happy with our evening and Riley even turned on Too Cute! on Animal Planet for me. That man really loves me.

Sunday Run and Girl’s Day

Sunday morning I was up by 7:00 and headed over to Colonial Williamsburg for my run. The cooler weather made a huge difference and 6 miles breezed by while I enjoyed the sights of the town. It’s very rare for me to say that miles “breeze by”, so this was a great run for me.

I love getting ready to start my run in Williamsburg and seeing how empty the town is. Major perks to pedestrian-only areas that early in the day!

CW DOG Street

All the houses are so pretty there and every week I see something new that I didn’t notice before!

CW Pretty House

My RunKeeper app said my average pace was about 10:00 mph, which is perfectly fine for me! I’ve never been all that fast, so I tried not to stress about my pace. I stayed pretty steady the whole run, gradually getting a bit faster towards the end.

Once home, Riley was cooking us a big breakfast and I opened up the back door for the pets to play outside. They have separation anxiety, however, and apparently have to be near us all the time, even when it’s 65 degrees and sunny!

Coco and Bella watching the deck

They’ll go outside, but only a little bit! They crack me up.

My friend Danielle came over in the afternoon to hang out and watch the Redskins game with me. I made some sparkling apple sangria (sliced apples, 1 bottle champagne, 1 bottle white wine) and cut up some veggies. To go with the veggies I mixed some Trader Joe’s onion dip mix with some plain Greek yogurt. Great game-day snacks!

Girls Day Snacks

Once we realized there was no way the Redskins were going to win, we decided some Starbucks was in order and headed out to Barnes and Noble. I had my first Pumpkin Spice Latte of the season!

First PSL

After doing some shopping, we decided to make a pit stop for a beer (cider for me) and some mussels.

Mussels Collage

The rest of my Sunday was spent relaxing and starting a new book. Great weekend all around!

This morning, I’m running off to work as soon as this gets published. My bed felt so comfy this morning and I waited until the last possible second to get up, so now I’m scrambling a bit. Hope you all have a great Monday!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

What game-day snacks are your favorite?

22 thoughts on “Fall Weekends Are The Best

  1. Apple Sangria sounds devine!! Looks like you had a great dinner out too, I’m with you on the bread basked too πŸ˜‰

    Highlight of my weekend was having pizza and wine on Saturday night and actually having a clean house for once!

  2. You look gorgeous for your Friday date night!! I love the outfit you put together, and it looks so pretty on you πŸ™‚ Your weekend sounds absolutely wonderful, too! I love that you had a girlfriend over to watch football haha…that’s me and hockey πŸ˜‰ Totally agree with you about the bread basket, too. I refuse to skip it…I chose my bday celebration restaurant with my family based on my love of their bread basket. The rest of the menu is good, too, haha, but the bread basket is the best πŸ˜‰

  3. You looked so pretty on your date night! I love Bonefish and used to eat there all the time when I lived in Florida. I haven’t see any out here in California.

    Sorry to hear about the Redskins. Apparently, it wasn’t a good weekend for either us in the football department. At least your sangria looked amazing!

    And that’s so sweet that your babies stayed close to you with the door open. I might expect that of a dog but cats are usually dying to get outside.

  4. Yeah for first PSL of the season!! And I agree to never turn down the bread basket- holy yum!! I was at the Healthy Living Summit this weekend and had a blast. . .I am super tired today though. . . πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

