Home » Animals » A Vegetable Even The Dog Will Eat

A Vegetable Even The Dog Will Eat

Big news today: Bella likes spaghetti squash!

This may not seem like a big deal, but I’ve spent the last 7 years trying to find ANY fruit or vegetable that she’ll actually eat. It’s mainly become a personal challenge more than anything else. I even try disguising the veggies with cheese or dip of some kind. But no, she’s too smart for that! She’ll lick off the good stuff and leave the healthy food on the floor.

Enter the spaghetti squash. I wrote a post a little while ago on how I roast my spaghetti squash and I seriously love how versatile is it! Well as it turns out, Bella is also fooled by it’s similarity to actual spaghetti.

Bella eat spaghetti squash

She cleaned both halves and even tried to eat the rind before I took it away from her. She worked her way into the garbage last night, though, and took care of the rest. What am I going to do with her?

Last night, Riley made an awesome homemade marinara packed with veggies (I’m pretty sure he added all the veggies just for me), and threw in some mini meatballs. It was such a good dinner!

spaghetti squash and meatballs

It still amazes me that 1 cup of spaghetti squash only has 40 calories. It’s also packed with nutrients! I love that I can have a big ol’ slice of rosemary bread and olive oil without worrying about overloading on carbs.

Good thing I don’t get sick of this meal because now I have lunch for the rest of the week!

spaghetti squash leftovers

Workout & Breakfast

This morning, I got up at 4:30 and headed over to the gym right at opening time. I wanted to switch up my treadmill run, so I did 25 minutes that looked like this:

  • 10 minutes steady-state running
  • 10 minutes hill intervals (running and walking)
  • 5 minutes sprinting intervals (6.0 mph to 11 mph)

After my run, I decided to work my arms and abs for a bit and did this arms/abs circuit:

Sexy arms and abs workout

I finished my workout with 10 minutes of stretching before heading home to shower.

Today’s breakfast was a bowl of Kashi cereal topped with banana, dried cranberries, and a spoonful of the chocolate and coconut flax I bought last week. Yummy and filling!

Cereal Tuesday

I also had a glass of this green juice I found at Trader Joe’s.

Trader Joe's Green Juice

I love green juice, but I don’t have a juicer and let’s face it, even if I did I’d probably be too lazy to use it (especially at 6:30 AM). This stuff only cost about $3.50, but I got 64 ounces of it as opposed to some of the other pre-made juices out there.

I’ll be honest, it definitely has more of a “healthy” taste than, say, the Naked green juice. It’s still super tasty, though, so I think I’ll be buying it again for sure!

Now it’s time to head in to work for the day. I’ve got my spaghetti squash leftovers with me and an apple for a snack, so I should be set.Have a good one!

Do you drink pre-made green juices? What’s your favorite?

What workout are you doing today?

27 thoughts on “A Vegetable Even The Dog Will Eat

  1. Haha that is too cute that your dog loves spaghetti squash! It is night time here but this morning I did a run but only a smaller one as one of my feet is feeling a bit ‘off’ so I didn’t want to do too far.

    You’ve inspired me to want to cook meatballs 🙂

  2. Taking the week off (or at least the next few days off) to rest my back/leg which is acting up again. Trying to avoid another 2 months of bed rest!!!

    So cute your dog loves spaghetti squash. Like her owner my dog loved peanut butter, pickles and popcorn 😉

  3. aww your pup is so cute!! and that dinner does look amazing! i buy green juices from time to time- usually as impulse purchases because im thirsty and they look really good in the store but yeah, they’re pricey. theres also a place by me that juices everything really fresh, so if i’m in the mood, i try to go there instead.

  4. Mmm girl that marinara looks tastttyyy!! I love using leftovers to take to work for lunch, so good! And that workout looks fab! I NEED some arm weight-lifting back in my life…my dumbbells are still somewhere in the garage from when we moved…need to find those!!

  5. Looks like an intense workout, I’ll save this one for later this week! Believe it or not, my dog LOVES veggies. His favorite is carrots but he’ll eat anything – cucumbers, peppers, broccoli, etc. I don’t give him our food often but when I do it is always a veggie!

  6. I’ve always been curious about spaghetti squash – does it have a taste? Do you actually use it in place of spaghetti, with sauce and everything? I might have to try it because it’s so much healthier than spaghetti!

  7. Bella’s a smart pup! Spaghetti squash is good stuff. That’s so funny that you’ve made it your mission to find a veggie she likes. I thought all dogs loved carrots? Coco eats pretty much anything.

    I’ve never seen the green juice at TJ’s before but it sounds interesting. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it!

  8. Haha, I have to see if my pup likes s.squash. We’re huge fans of it, there are 3 growing in our garden as we speak!
    The arm workout looks awesome, I’ll try it at the gym next day. I may skip some of the ab work because I’m 5 months preggo and that’s getting a little uncomfortable;) Glad I came across your blog!

  9. Not to get SUPER technical but………… Spaghetti Squash is actually a FRUIT. BAHHH! HA HA HA HA HA HA AH HA AHA HA!! 😉

    Regardless, you poochie is AMAZING for liking it!! My dogs only like meat – they don’t even look at anything else!

Leave a Reply

