Home » Daily food & workouts » Just Suck It Up And Go

Just Suck It Up And Go

Today was one of those days that when the alarm went off at 4:30, I really questioned my sanity. This whole early gym thing is definitely not easy!

I questioned my sanity even more when I had this full conversation with myself in my head:

  • Peppy Fitness Kelly: “Psst. Hey Kelly, stop hitting snooze, it’s time to get up and hit the gym!”
  • Lazy Kelly: “Yeah, about that…..I was really thinki-“
  • Peppy Fitness Kelly: “Oh, no you don’t! Put those sneakers on and get ready to sweat!”
  • Lazy Kelly: “Ugh, is it really that bad to just take a rest day today?”
  • Peppy Fitness Kelly: “Just ask yourself this- do you think you’ll regret working out today? I think not!!”
  • Lazy Kelly: “I hate you” <rolls out of bed>

And that’s how it’s done, for those of you that always ask me, “how do you get up so early?” It’s a constant battle, but sometimes you just have to suck it up and get out of bed.

As usual, once I was dressed and out the door I felt totally awake. I got to the gym around 5:00 and hopped on the adaptive motion trainer for 35 minutes, cranking the resistance way up so I got a good workout. I followed my cardio with some strength training on a couple leg machines and some stretching.

The only downside to my cardio today was that the TV remote thingy wasn’t working, so instead of watching news like I usually do, I got stuck watching an infomercial on this contraption that sucks your hair inside and curls it for you. None of that pesky wrist-twisting action of normal curlers! Infomercials have really opened my eyes to how utterly miserable women are until an ex-celebrity gives them a makeover.

Anyway, once I got home I was starving! Last night’s dinner was some leftover pasta tossed with a whole bunch of veggies in our house that I’m trying to use before they go bad.

Veggie chicken pasta

Today’s breakfast looked very similar: eggs with mushrooms, onion, tomatoes, spinach, and feta. I had it with a slice of toast and some green juice.

Eggs and toast

Now I’m off for a busy day at work and another relaxing evening at home tonight. I just bought 2 books and 3 magazines arrived in the mail this week so I have a major dilemma on my hands about how to allocate my reading time. Nerd problems.

I also need to find a good dessert recipe, because last night this happened out of desperation:

Chocolate peanut butter spoon

It was actually really satisfying, but I’d like to make something a bit more official. If you haven’t checked out Becky’s recipes over at her blog, Olives ‘n Wine, she’s pretty much the queen of chocolate & peanut butter desserts, so I may be heading over there for some inspiration today.

Anyway, gotta run. I’ll catch up with you later!!

Any good chocolate/peanut butter recipes I could try? Links are welcome!

Are you a bookworm? I read all the time and am always looking for new books to check out!

25 thoughts on “Just Suck It Up And Go

  1. Thanks for the shoutout, Kelly! You know it – I am definitely a peanut butter and chocolate freak 😉 Hehe! And I laughed out loud at your morning conversations because mine are exactly the same way! It’s always a struggle but I am always happy when I pull myself out of bed early.

  2. Bahaha. I love your rant about the infomercial. I always find myself saying, “who watches this?!”
    I would have the same internal struggle if I had to wake up that early to work out. My body always chooses sleep which is why I can’t do it in the morning.

    I’m a bookworm too and I’m about to finish an amazing book I just read that I plan to review soon!

  3. I can eat peanut butter by itself all day. A great breakfast: oatmeal with 1 schoop chocolate protein powder, a scoop of chunky peanut butter and a little almond milk. Keeps you full for hours and tastes like an oatmeal peanut butter chocolate chip cookie!

    Books: ALL of Gillian Flynn’s book: Gone Girl, Dark Places and Sharp Objects. Also currently reading Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight, and while it’s a little young adult/Gossip Girl-esque, it’s still very entertaining!

  4. Hey Kelly! We must be kindred spirit bc I have an unnatural obsession with peanut butter and chocolate too. 🙂 My favorite thing to make is a recipe I found off Pinterest for “energy bites” but I just call them Chocolate PB Bites. Just mix 1 cup old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup ground flaxseed, 1/3 cup honey, 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips. Refrigerate the mixture for 20 min. and then form them into little balls. They are super delicious and perfect when you want a sweet treat after dinner (which I mean really, who doesn’t?) :).

  5. I totally have that convo with myself every day – except I run after work so I’m already really tired from working all day. Also, PB and chocolate chips was my go-to dessert in college! Super easy and yummy!

Leave a Reply

