Home » Food & Recipes » Brownie Deliciousness

Brownie Deliciousness

Happy Friday, everyone! To kick off your weekend indulgence, I’m going to share a brownie recipe I made last night. I’ve been craving something sweet for a couple days now and decided to bite the bullet and make something that’s just completely decadent.

peanut butter filled brownies 2

This recipe was adapted from an amazing recipe I’ve been using for a couple of years that I found here: Perfect Brownies. If you’re ever craving amazing homemade brownies, use that recipe! I decided to add a peanut butter filling and chocolate topping, because I didn’t think I’d used quite enough butter for one night.

Presenting: Peanut Butter-Filled Brownies

Prep time: 10 minutes

Total time: Forever. Just a word of warning- don’t try to make these at 8:00 at night. I did and it was a terrible idea. By the time they were finished I was super tired and it was way to late for all that sugar.

Ingredients:

For the brownies

  • 1½ cups sugar
  • ¾ cup flour
  • ¾ cup cocoa powder
  • 3 eggs
  • ¾ cup butter, melted
  • ½ teaspoon salt (if using unsalted butter)
  • ¾ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

For the filling:

  • ½ cup butter, softened
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • 1 ½ cups powdered sugar

For the topping:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Stir together all of the brownie ingredients and fill a 9×13 inch pan, spreading batter evenly. Bake at 325° for 30 minutes. Let cool completely. I got impatient, so I put the pan in the freezer to cool.

Beat together all the filling ingredients with a hand mixer and spread on top of the brownies. I could have just eaten this stuff by itself!

brownie collage

Melt the topping ingredients in the microwave and pour evenly over the top of the brownies and peanut butter filling, spreading with a spatula to the edges. Cool completely in the fridge for about 30 minutes.

peanut butter filled brownie pan

All in all, the process takes way longer than I would normally want to get to dessert (I want it now!! Give me the chocolate now!), but Riley assured me the extra steps would be worth it.

By the time I put them in the fridge to cool for the second time, I had licked the spatula, spoon, bowl, and sneaked chocolate chips from the bag so much my stomach hurt and it was past my bed time. What am I, 5 years old?!

This morning, I pulled the brownies out of the fridge, cut one, and popped it in the microwave for 10 seconds to soften it and make the brownie slightly warm.

peanut butter filled brownies 2

Do I regret that this was my breakfast? Nope! I ate my multivitamin with it so it’s fine 🙂

If you wanted to, you could probably lighten these up by using some Stevia instead of sugar and finding some lighter butter. I did not, and I used the full 3 sticks called for by the recipe (just don’t think about it!). Hope you make these!

On that note, I wish you all a Happy Friday and have a wonderful weekend!!

What are your weekend plans?

What’s your favorite kind of brownie?

20 thoughts on “Brownie Deliciousness

  1. Can you bring some over to my house?! These look delicious but unfortunately I am not a huge baker. However, I bet you I can get my mom to make these for me 🙂 I am off to Chicago for a fitness convention and staying with her this weekend so its worth a shot, right?!

  2. Sounds super yummy and makes me feel good I’m not the only one who had brownies for breakfast today lol!! Mine were coconut sweet potato (whole30 approved) but still…yum!!! Happy Friday!!!

  3. wowwww i want these right now. and yep, its not even 11am yet 🙂 and actually i kinda want 2 now. ive been craving chocolate lately so this is like showing a crack addict a photo of crack, or something. excuse me while i go get some chocolate 🙂

  4. Ahhh brownies. Even when you were a teen and didn’t know how to cook anything else (and ironically had no interest in cooking either), you could always make the best brownies around. You can make some for me next time you come home 🙂

  5. Pingback: Monday Mom Confession: Brownies for Breakfast | BTDT Mama

  6. Pingback: There is a 7/5/2006-12: 01 pm. | lovingbutter

  7. Pingback: Productive day off | My Frugal Life

Leave a Reply

