Home » Food & Recipes » Quick 20-Minute Weeknight Dinner For Two

Quick 20-Minute Weeknight Dinner For Two

Good morning, lovely readers! I have a craaazy busy day today. I somehow thought it’d be a great idea to schedule 3 high school visits on a day I have a counselor luncheon AND an evening student reception. Needless to say, there will be no early workout and I’ll fit it in this afternoon once I’m checked into my next hotel! Read on tomorrow to hear what I did! I’ll have a good game plan later this morning, at least!

Since I’ve been on the road, I thought I’d share another one of my quickie work-night dinners with you.

I’m a fan of fast dinners. Typically, I walk in the door right before 6:00 and ask, “what’s for dinner?!” right off the bat. I’m a hungry woman! If I can get dinner on the table in under 30 minutes, I’m a happy camper!

A few days ago, I was able to get a well-rounded and healthy dinner cooked super fast!

Baked chicken and quinoa 2

Baked chicken breasts are so easy and healthy, and I recently found some already marinated in Italian seasonings (made by Purdue I think). The best part of this is that it serves two people exactly. So often we cook meals that could feed an army and I’m so sick of the leftovers by day four! Is anyone else on leftover overload?!

Baked Chicken and Quinoa For Two

1) Put 2-3 marinated chicken breasts on a baking sheet and cook according to the bag’s directions. Mine only took 20-25 minutes to cook on 375 degrees.

2) While the chicken is cooking, heat a small amount of olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Throw in whatever veggies you have on hand and sautee until soft. I used onion, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, and spinach. I also threw in some minced garlic, salt, and pepper. Just a hint- wait until you’re almost ready to serve to add the spinach. It’ll get super wilt-y if you have it on the stove too long!

3) Take the chicken out to rest. While resting, pop in a 90-second packet of quinoa. I used the Simply Balanced (Target brand) kind found here: Garlic and Olive Oil Quinoa.

4) Pile all that goodness on a plate and dig in!

Baked chicken and quinoa

I love these dinners for a couple reasons:

1) They’re fast. And I’m a hungry lady.

2) They’re nutritious. Baked chicken, quinoa, and vegetables. It’s a win all around!

3) They’re delicious. I married a man who loves bacon, and creamy sauces, and basically all things healthy people tell you not to eat. This is a meal that satisfies both parties and manages to squeeze in nutritional value along the way.

If you end up making this (or something similar), I hope you enjoy it. I’m off for a crazy busy day of recruiting. I’m also going to pretend the stuffy nose and sore throat I just woke up to is just because of dry air in my hotel room (delusional? Maybe). I’m aiming for an afternoon workout, so you’ll hear all about it tomorrow.

Hope you have a great day!

What’s your favorite “low maintenance” recipe?

13 thoughts on “Quick 20-Minute Weeknight Dinner For Two

Leave a Reply

