Home » Daily food & workouts » The Definition Of Over-doing It

The Definition Of Over-doing It

Remember that time I gave you tips on how to not exhaust yourself and get sick when traveling? Well, I ignored all of those tips yesterday. As a result, I’m now sick, sore, and wiped out. Whoops!

Yesterday, I was up at 5:30 and went for 18 straight hours of driving, visiting schools, and working our receptions. I also sneaked in a long session at my hotel gym.

IMG_1929

Blurry gym pic

In between our lunch session and the evening reception, I headed down to our hotel gym and decided I had to work EVERYTHING. I think I was just so happy to not have my usual 45-minute time limit that I normally have so early in the morning. Because of this, I spent 1 1/2 hours doing all of this:

  • Running
  • Ellipticaling
  • Biking
  • Squats, lunges, more squats, walking lunges
  • Every ab move I could think of
  • Bicep curls, triceps dips, shoulder presses, chest presses
  • Burpees, mountain climbers, planks

That’s just a sampling. I can’t move. I’m seriously thinking of buying a cheap bathing suit so I can use the hot tub at our next hotel.

Without seeming like a whiner, and because I’m an eternal optimist, I thought I’d also sneak in some of the things that are great about my trip so far!

1) The locations. So far, we’ve been to a gorgeous house in Fredericksburg for a reception.

Gari Melcher House

2) I visited high schools in one of the most gorgeous areas of Virginia, Middleburg.

Middleburg

It’s basically horse and wine country in VA and it’s stunning. I got to watch the sun rise yesterday while I was driving up there and the views are to die for!

3) Today we’re heading up to Leesburg, VA to a gorgeous resort for our next lunch and evening receptions. We get to stay on property tonight too! So even though I feel crappy, at least I’ll feel crappy here:

My plan for today is to take it easy when I can, get lots of rest, and maybe book myself a spa treatment (but probably not, because I’m cheap).

My blog reader says I have a gazillion unread posts, so I’ll try to catch up with all of you this afternoon once we’re settled in and have a break.

Have a great day!

How do you usually tackle a cold? I usually do the stupid thing and ignore it as long as possible until I can barely function and my husband and co-workers intervene. I don’t recommend the Kelly method and I’m going to try and be more pro-active in getting rid of it this time around!

How’s your week going so far?

19 thoughts on “The Definition Of Over-doing It

  1. I overdose on vitamin c in every way possible that and garlic! So for vitamin c it’s chewable tablets, oranges, kiwi fruit anything really!

    I also drink lots of water! I feel your pain I am verging on getting sick too and it is no fun!

  2. Oh noooo! I am the first person to understand this feeling! I drove myself into the ground even when my body was telling me not to. Paying for it now but a good lesson nonetheless. Feel better love! Tea and bubblebaths are always the answer for me!

  3. I just need to tell you that your job sounds amazing! Seriously, I’m really jealous. What exactly do you do? I’d love to hear more about it! Also, I know what you mean about working out for a long time when you don’t have to squeeze your workout into a time frame. I did that last week!

    • I’m an admission officer for a university, so I travel to high schools, college fairs, and this week I’m doing fancy receptions for students and parents. I also read a ton of applications and make admission decisions, as well as a whole bunch of other stuff. I absolutely love it!

      • That’s awesome! I’m kind of looking for a job change in the near future, I might keep that in mind. My mom works for a college and always talks about how great it is! It’s cool you get to travel so much!

Leave a Reply

