Home » Food & Recipes » A Half Day and a Wedding

A Half Day and a Wedding

Happy Friday!! Even though I have to work tomorrow morning, I’m counting today as a victory. My 7-day work week is almost over and I’m leaving work at lunch today, which I need because you guys….I am wiped out. My cousin is getting married tonight, though, so I’m excited about that! I’ll get to see a lot of family and I’m looking forward to what I’m sure will be a good time.

Yesterday was a super busy day of meetings, a presentation, and catching up on lots of work. I did take a few minutes to eat lunch at my desk. They make some awesome chicken salad and homemade croissants on campus, so I picked some up and took a quick break.

Chicken salad croissant

After working a few more hours, I ventured out to the campus farmer’s market. They had some great stuff for sale, and I picked up a loaf of sourdough bread as well as some delicious granola. They had a bunch of flavors, but I decided on pumpkin pie and quinoa crunch.

homemade granola

Finally, the highlight of my evening was sitting down to a dinner of BBQ pork chops, wild rice, and veggies, courtesy of Riley.

bbq pork chops

Nothing fancy, but it was an easy weeknight dinner. Bella was the best part of dinner. She usually sits and stares at us while we eat anyway (she knows I’m a sucker), but last night she was literally drooling.

drooling Bella

I tried so hard to get a picture that captured the little trail of drool dripping from her mouth, but I couldn’t get a good shot. She’s too funny! Her pitiful stares worked because I let her finish my plate when I got full.

Workout & Breakfast

This morning was my first 4:30 alarm in a while since I’ve been traveling. Not gonna lie, it was super hard! I almost wimped out, but then I thought of the wedding food and wine I’ll be consuming tonight and it got me out of bed. Nothing like standing outside your gym’s doors at 4:58 AM waiting for them to open to make you feel like a crazy person.

Today’s workout was a 30 minute run on the treadmill, then this quick abs workout.

Quick-fire abs workout

This wasn’t a super challenging workout, but by using a relatively heavy medicine ball and moving quickly through each set I was able to make it harder.

For breakfast today, I decided to try out my new granola! I opted for the Quinoa Crunch flavor, and I was so happy with the ingredients list on the back.

Quinoa granola ingredients

For all you ladies out there that make your own granola, you have my utmost respect. I would love to be ambitious enough to do that, but I’m just too lazy. This means I was super happy to have granola that I can pretend is homemade! I mixed the granola with some vanilla Greek yogurt and that small dollop in the middle is what was left of my maple almond butter.

Quinoa granola yogurt bowl

Lots to do today, so I gotta run. I’ll catch up with you all later and I hope you have a great weekend!

What are your weekend plans?

Do you make your own granola? What’s your favorite kind?

What’s your workout look like today?

9 thoughts on “A Half Day and a Wedding

  1. Have fun at the wedding tonight, we have one tomorrow! And oh my gosh, Maddie drools all the time when we are eating! It’s pretty pathetic actually…we also give her a treat when we go to bed because she sleeps in her crate and if we dont give it to her right away, drool will be everywhere. Ha! As always, love your workouts 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  2. Lol I’m the same.exact.way when it comes to making my own granola. It seems like such a fabulous thing to do, but at the end of the day, I just can’t work up the motivation. That and, to be honest, I’m more of a cereal girl anyways.

    Hope you have an awesome time at the wedding! I’ve got a coffee date, farmers’ market trip, and dinner with the family on the agenda for this weekend.

  3. No workout for me today as I’ve got to rest up, 1 more long run tomorrow and then nothing till my half next Sunday (the rest week is going to kill me I tells you!).

    Bella looks too cute in that photo! Well done Riley for that amazing looking meal, I am drooling over it too 🙂 I’ve never made my own granola but I’ve always meant to. The one you got looks delicious.

    Have a great weekend lovely!

  4. Pingback: Half-day Happiness | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

