Home » Daily food & workouts » Finding Happiness in the Little Things

Finding Happiness in the Little Things

Happy Wednesday! Today I just wanted to share a few of the little things that are making me happy this week. When I get super busy, it’s easy to get stressed and focus on the things I wish I could change. Instead, I try to concentrate on those small things that make me smile throughout the week.

Here are a few things I’m smiling about this morning:

Office coffee station

Pumpkin Pie Spice creamer. This stuff is amazing and costs way less than a PSL, which I definitely can’t buy every day. I save so much money by brewing my own coffee in my office (though it does give the impression I’m a coffee addict), and I try to have several different creamers to keep it interesting.

Office flowers

Office flowers! The lady at Food Lion just randomly gave me free flowers yesterday at the checkout, so now my office can look even prettier.

TJ's crab cake and fish

Trader Joe’s freezer section. Last night I came home from work the same way I always do: starving. I was able to make a super tasty dinner in 20 minutes thanks to Trader Joe’s. I made their vegetable quinoa, crab cakes, and crab-stuffed flounder. Topped with a little sriracha and we were good to go!

New books! I’m reading Fragile, by Lisa Unger right now and I’m loving it. It’s not really a new book (it’s been out for a couple years I think), but I’ve read a few by her that I liked. I’m only about halfway through, but I love looking forward to my quiet reading time before bed every night.

Workout & Breakfast

This morning I got to the gym right at opening time to get in some cardio and abs. I did 35 minutes on the adaptive motion trainer doing intervals, then grabbed a mat and did some ab work. Nothing fancy, just some crunches, side crunches, kick-downs, and planks.

It’s gross and rainy outside today so I was craving something savory for breakfast. I also knew Riley had an early day at work so I figured I’d make him some breakfast too. I scrambled some eggs with home fries, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and tomatoes. I also heated up a biscuit to go with mine and it hit the spot!

Breakfast scramble

Now I’m off to work for the day! This rain isn’t going anywhere, so I’m looking forward to starting my work day with a hot cup of pumpkin-y coffee and hoping for a calm day so I can just stay in my cozy office and get work done.

Have a great day!

What little things are making you smile today?

What’s your favorite savory breakfast?

17 thoughts on “Finding Happiness in the Little Things

  1. I love the practice of focusing on the little things when you feel yourself getting overwhelmed. For me, that’s breakfast, coffee, text chats with good friends, boots, the gorgeous colours outside, and the fact that it’s Thanksgiving long weekend for us up here in Canada. Woo! Eat ALL the foods!!

  2. Love finding joy in the little things. .. however, I am so sad that I don’t live closer to a TJs, but while that would be awesome, it would also be super dangerous as well! I am loving my lunch right now – Blue Diamond Nut thins are rockin my world!!

  3. Love this! Great that you got free flowers 🙂 It is all the little things that can add up that really truly make you smile!

    I love sunny days, getting to spend time with my boyfriend, having my daily chai lattes, connecting with others daily through blogging and sleep ins 🙂

Leave a Reply

