Home » Daily food & workouts » Weekend Recap- Short, But Sweet Weekend!

Weekend Recap- Short, But Sweet Weekend!

Hello, loves! I’m hitting the road in a few minutes, but I wanted to get you all up to speed on what I’ve been up to the past couple days! This weekend was short, but I was able to get in some solid relaxation and fun in the time I had.

Friday night was date night! We decided to go to Bonefish Grill for happy hour. I was just excited to break out the fall boots and wear something other than business suits and workout clothes!

date night outfitWe enjoyed some of the seasonal cocktails at Bonefish. My favorite was the Bonefish classic sidecar with a mango twist.

bonefish cocktail 1

I’m not usually a brandy drinker, but I loved this cocktail! Riley enjoyed some martinis while we caught up on our days.

riley bonefish cocktail

I loved just relaxing and enjoying Riley’s company. After drinks, we stopped by Trader Joe’s to stock up on wine for the weekend and pick up homemade pizza supplies.

date night pizza

Homemade pizza is my favorite Friday night tradition in our house! We had a couple more drinks at home with the pizza before I turned in for the night.

Saturday Wedding

Saturday I worked a recruitment event at work until about 1:30. The fun part about this event is that it was all about scholarship recruitment, which I’m in charge of this year. Everyone wants to make friends with the lady who awards scholarships, so I kept busy the entire time!

After I got home I squeezed in a nap before we headed out to New Kent, VA for a wedding. Riley’s cousin was getting married and while I was super bummed the outdoor ceremony didn’t work out (it’s been raining for a solid week here in VA!), it was still beautifully done!

kelly and riley new kent wedding 2

new kent wedding 2

new kent wedding centerpiece

They had a gorgeous cake and a classic country menu: fried chicken, mac and cheese, BBQ and much more!

new kent wedding cake

new kent wedding food

We left shortly after dinner because we found out during the wedding that Riley’s brother was in town at the last minute. They are moving to Louisiana next week so we wanted to stop by his dad’s house to see the family for a little while before heading home.

I was a total party pooper all night since I was super tired! Riley worked hard to make sure we got all the visiting done and were still home before 9:00 so I could get in my comfy clothes early!

Sunday was spent relaxing, cooking, and shopping. Riley was home all day with me so I got super domestic and made some awesome dishes. I made breakfast casserole (recipe to come!)

breakfast casserole 2

I also teamed up with Riley to make a big pot of chili:

chilli

Finally, I rounded out my day of being a domestic goddess with a loaf of homemade banana walnut bread:

banana walnut bread

I used a recipe I found on Food Network here: Banana Walnut Bread. So tasty!

This morning I’m headed to Charlottesville, VA to kick off another week of recruitment events for work. I’ll be doing lots of meeting/greeting/handing out business cards over the next couple of days!

Hope you all had a great weekend and have an awesome Monday!!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

What’s your favorite kind of chili?

19 thoughts on “Weekend Recap- Short, But Sweet Weekend!

  1. LOVE Bonefish! The bang bang shrimp is my favorite. I could eat nine plates of it. I love their sangria but your drink sounds great too. The breakfast casserole looks amazing, can’t wait for the recipe
    !

  2. The wedding looks like it was gorgeous! We went to one this weekend too and I have decided fall weddings are the best! Perfect weather and beautiful colors! I love ALL the chili! 🙂 My favorite is probably semi spicy turkey chili with a side of cornbread. Have a great Monday girl!

  3. Love the menu at the wedding it sounded oh so good! I laughed at your comment about everyone wanting to make friends with the scholarship lady, I bet they do 🙂

    Looking forward to your breakfast casserole recipe. I always love making banana bread as its so easy to put together but always tastes good too!

Leave a Reply

