Home » Daily food & workouts » Scenes From The Road

Scenes From The Road

Greetings from Charlottesville, VA! I’m actually getting ready to leave here for our next stop, but I just wanted to pop in and tell you how completely gorgeous this place is! This is the view from the private balcony off my room:

Boar's Head balcony view

Yesterday, we arrived at the Boar’s Head Inn in Charlottesville for our recruitment events. The perk of going on these is that we usually stay at the same hotel as the event!

Boar's head entrance

I was already thrilled when I arrived because the sun finally came out after a solid week of rain, clouds, and general misery in the weather department. Looks like we finally get some pretty weather for a few days!

My room is absolutely adorable. While the hotel definitely is older and and some of the more common areas have some wear, it’s in a way that’s charming and feels homey. The rooms have some cute features, like comfy blankets at the foot of the bed, a super cute barn-style door to the bathroom, and tons of historical pictures on the wall.

Boar's Head Bed

Boar's Head Bathroom Door

My favorite part about this resort, however, is the scenery.

Boar's head scenery

Our events went really well, which made it even better! In between our events we had a long break in the afternoon. Everyone decided to have a basketball challenge at the resort’s sports club and fitness center. I’m the least coordinated person when it comes to any sport involving a ball (which is most of them, sadly), so I decided to do my own workout.

The resort had a full gym, so I was able to do some cardio and also lift some weights. I worked my upper body, ran, did the rowing machine, hopped on the cross trainer, then finished with some lunges and a quick 1/2 mile or so run around the resort property.

This morning, I got up around 5:30 to squeeze in a workout before hitting the road. I’ll have the chance this afternoon if I’d wanted to sleep in, but I’m realizing that my workouts are much better if it’s first thing and on an empty stomach!

The resort gym opened at 6:00 and I did a quick, 20-minute HIIT run on the treadmill, with sprints hitting 10.5 mph. After my run, I grabbed an 8 lb. dumbbell and a ab ball to do a 15 minute ab workout. After some stretching it was time to shower and pack up!

Breakfast today is thanks to the snacks I packed. I had a honeycrisp apple and a granola bar with some coffee.

IMG_2162

It’s not super substantial, but there’s nowhere near the resort I can go and I’m too cheap to pay the $18 for breakfast at the hotel restaurant!

Time to pack up and head off to the next location. Hope you have a great day!!

Have you ever been to Charlottesville?

What’s the best time of day for you to work out?

19 thoughts on “Scenes From The Road

  1. That view from your balcony is absolutely gorgeous — I love how calm and peaceful it looks. And while I can’t relate to enjoying working out on an empty stomach (I usually need at least a piece of fruit in me or something), I do love working out first thing in the morning — it sets the tone for the rest of the day.

  2. I’m the same as you, I like to get my workouts done in the morning. If I wait till the afternoon I can come up with a million excuses not to do it and then it just doesn’t always happen.

    That hotel looks beautiful, what a great location to have to travel to for work. I am also uncoordinated when it comes to sports like basketball or really any ball sports!

  3. It’s so pretty there! What a cute little town. 🙂

    For your HIIT workout on the treadmill, what do you typically do? 30 secs on/30 off? Or 60 on/60off?

    • I build up to bigger speeds, usually, and vary it. Like today I did 60/60 kind of fast a couple rounds, then 30/30 faster a few times, then finally 20 seconds sprinting and jumping my legs to the sides of the treadmill to rest for 10 seconds. Maybe I’ll type up an official plan soon!

Leave a Reply

