Home » Food & Recipes » Lightened-up Breakfast Casserole

Lightened-up Breakfast Casserole

Hey, everyone! I have an awesome recipe to share with you today!

As many of you may know from reading my blog, Sunday is a day where Riley and I indulge in brunch. Most of the time, he makes a big breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash browns, and biscuits. Every now and then, however, he asks me to make a breakfast casserole.

breakfast casserole 2

I love all types of casseroles! The main reason I love casserole is that while it’s cooking I can clean all the extra pots and pans so that I have minimal clean-up after the meal (since I’m OCD and a total neat freak!).

Breakfast casserole can be really bad for you if you go overboard! If you plan carefully, however, you can make a casserole that’s savory, filling and healthy without tasting like a ‘healthy’ dish!

Here’s what went into my breakfast casserole:

Chicken Sausage Breakfast Casserole

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 package reduced-fat crescent rolls
  • 1/2 cup fat-free feta cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 liquid egg whites
  • 1 package chicken sausage (I used Al Fresco jalapeno chicken sausage)
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, copped
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • salt & pepper, to taste

1) Pre-heat oven to 350. Line a casserole dish with crescent roll dough, pressing seams to close.

2) In a pan, heat 1 tbsp butter over medium heat. Add veggies and chicken sausage to heat through (5-7 minutes).

3) Pour veggie/chicken sausage mixture over crescent dough. Top with feta cheese.

4) Whisk together eggs, egg whites, ricotta cheese, and almond milk in a separate bowl. Add any seasonings (salt, pepper, garlic, etc.)

5) Pour egg mixture over casserole until well covered. Cook 45 minutes or until eggs are completely set. You can tell if it’s set just by jiggling the casserole dish. If nothing moves, you know it’s ready!

Serve and enjoy!

breakfast casserole 3

My favorite part of this recipe was the ricotta cheese. It added a depth and creaminess to the eggs that I really loved!

breakfast casserole

While I usually just wing it when it comes to breakfast casserole, I would definitely try and duplicate this version again. The combination of chicken sausage, good veggies, and ricotta with the eggs created a combination that’s absolutely worth re-creating.

I hope you enjoy this if you decide to make it! I’m off to use my hotel gym, then we’re headed to Springfield, VA for another day of recruitment events. Have a great day!

What’s your favorite brunch food?

Do you like breakfast casserole? if so, what do you put in yours?

21 thoughts on “Lightened-up Breakfast Casserole

  1. I can’t honestly say that I’ve ever had a breakfast casserole — I’m mostly an oatmeal, pancake, cereal, and waffle kind of girl. And when it comes to brunches? Crepes are definitely my favourite — especially when they’ve been stuffed with cream cheese and jam. Yesss.

    Oh, and I’m the same way when it comes to needing to have things neat and tidy in the kitchen… sometimes I’ll even do the dishes before I sit down to my meal πŸ˜‰

  2. I love egg bakes! So easy and perfect way to get in some extra veggies (with some cheese of course!) I love to top mine with cream cheese – the extra creaminess is amazing. Safe travels today.

  3. I’ve never had breakfast casserole before but that looks delicious! We don’t have crescent rolls here, I don’t even know exactly what they are to know what a good alternative would be?

    Brunch my favourite hands down is poached eggs on toast with smoked salmon and avocado, I always order it and never get sick of it! πŸ™‚

    • Crescent rolls are really just like buttery mini croissants. I’ve never tried it this way, but you could probably just line the casserole dish with biscuit dough if you can find that!

      You do have your brunch favorites, I love that you get the same thing every time!

  4. Pingback: Scrambled Egg Casserole | Zlater Family CookBook

  5. Pingback: Paula Deen’s Hash Brown Casserole | Zlater Family CookBook

  6. Pingback: SexyMoxieMama’s Breakfast Casserole | Sexy Moxie Mama

Leave a Reply

