Home » Life » Dreaming of Hotel Rooms…..and Other Fun Stuff

Dreaming of Hotel Rooms…..and Other Fun Stuff

Well good morning! I’m writing  from my Residence Inn in northern VA, where I’ll be visiting high schools all week. It’s my LAST recruitment trip and I’m ready to bring the fall travel season to a close. While I’ve definitely enjoyed having some alone time, after 5-6 weeks of hotels, smiling, shaking hands, and saying the same speech over and over again I’m ready to be home!

I literally had dreams about checking in and out of hotels last night. So much that when I woke up this morning I needed a minute to remember where I was! I did enjoy sleeping in a bit, though, especially since last night we did a college fair that was so busy I don’t think I stopped talking the entire time.

Let’s take a minute to talk about my weekend! It was short because of yesterday’s college fair, but there were a few highlights:

Flowers from Riley

Flowers from Riley

Riley seems to have this sense every year of when I’m hitting my wall during travel season and buys me flowers at exactly the moment I need them! I wish I could have brought them with me so I could look at them all week. Good job Riley! He is so good to me 🙂

At-home date night

White Wine

Riley didn’t just buy me flowers on Friday! He also stocked us up on wine from Trader Joe’s (the wine above was a tasty sauvignon blanc) and homemade pizza supplies. We were supposed to go see a movie Friday, but after long work days for both of us we just decided to make pizza, have some wine in our comfy clothes and watch some funny shows on TV. Definitely a nice way to start the weekend in my book!

Relaxing Saturday

When we woke up Saturday, it was rainy and gross outside. This was perfect for me because it meant I didn’t have to feel guilty staying in yoga pants for half the day! We drank coffee with the windows open while it rained and Riley made a huge breakfast while I read magazines. It was the ultimate lazy Saturday morning!

Sunday run in Colonial Williamsburg

It was COLD Sunday morning when I got up to run in CW. Anything below 58 degrees is cold for me and it was 50 when I got there. I bundled up, of course, and had on pants and long sleeves. There were other people in shorts and tank tops, though, which I thought was completely crazy!

CW Dog Street

I learned the hard way that wine on Saturday night is not good running fuel. I made it 3 miles and decided that was good enough for me! I did enjoy some pretty scenery along my run and enjoyed people-watching, which made it worth it.

CW Brick path

I really want to get a picture of the colonial actors walking around, but I don’t want to look like a creeper! One day I’ll catch them when they’re not looking. Despite my de-hydration, I finished 3 miles in under 30 minutes, which I was happy about.

CW Run Splits

Beautiful fall weather and a Redskins win

After my run I opened the back door at home to let the pets run around and play. Coco loves to sunbathe on our deck!

Coco laying in the sun

I was also so happy that the Redskins won their game against the Bears yesterday! I got to watch the first half before hitting the road, and I listened to the second half on the radio. The other drivers must have thought I was a crazy person yelling and cheering in my car!

I’ve got a day of high school visits ahead, so I’d better go get ready! I haven’t been down to breakfast yet, but I’ll probably have something along the fruit/yogurt/granola variety. Either that or I’ll make some peanut butter toast with bananas. Guess we’ll just see what looks good. I usually take Mondays off from working out, but I may go for a late afternoon run when I’m done with work for the day.

Have a great Monday!!

What was the best part of your weekend?

What’s your idea of a great date night?

At what temperature do you break out the long sleeves for a run?

20 thoughts on “Dreaming of Hotel Rooms…..and Other Fun Stuff

  1. haha i literally just booked a train to williamsburg. forgot you live there! i’ll be there for a conference in november, staying at the lodge! i’m so excited. your Saturday morning sounds perfect to me 🙂

  2. I’m currently at a convention in FLORIDA representing the college I work for back home. The highlight? An old college girlfriend lives two hours away from my resort so she drove in last night to have dinner and drinks with me. Score!!
    Hope your day of recruitment is going well!

  3. Awwr! It definitely sounds like you got yourself a keeper 😀 And those relaxing date nights at home are some of my favourites. It’s nice to go out and have fun, but a night at home after a crazy week is so much better. Hope your week is off to a great start!

  4. Boo to the Bears losing to your Redskins 😦 It was an exciting game though! Trader Joes has the best wine for cheap- love it. I usually break out my long sleeves for runs when it hits 50 degrees.

  5. Well done on still making it out for your run, sometimes when I’ve drunk too much the night before I won’t go at all.

    Riley is so sweet buying you flowers and that wine. I love those stemless glasses you have too, just beautiful.

  6. A great date night includes staying at home, cozying up on the couch, and sharing a bottle of wine. Easy! Or maybe just wine for me. Beer for him. And some chocolate 🙂 Your run looked like it was beautiful!! Great times too, girl!!

  7. I travel for work ALL the time. I’ve probably spent over three out of the last 5 years living in hotel rooms. Running is one of my favorite ways to explore a new place and get my workout in. You really need to be careful though. I was in Schenectady, NY last week running through a park when luckily, a cop car pulled up. They warned me I was in a very unsafe place and gave me an alternative route- thank goodness it was the middle of the day.

    • Wow, so glad nothing happened to you! I try to make sure it’s a good area before I go and come back before dark. Luckily, I’m in a super nice suburb area this week, otherwise I usually stick to place I know. Thanks for the reminder to watch out!

Leave a Reply

