Home » Daily food & workouts » Day in the Life: Admission Edition

Day in the Life: Admission Edition

A lot of you have mentioned that you think my job is really interesting! It’s no secret that I absolutely love my job. It’s pretty awesome to get paid to recruit new students to my alma mater. It’s also a super rewarding experience that brings with it a lot of laughs and also some “seriously?!?” moments.

Since I’m in full admission travel season, I thought I’d walk you through what a day on the road looks like for me! This is basically a play-by-play of what I did yesterday, peppered with pictures of Tina Fey in the Admission movie just because.

7:00 AM: Wake up, check email. I don’t know why I check email so obsessively, but I get anxious if I have more than 10 emails in my inbox.

7:15 AM: Hit the hotel gym for a quick workout. I did 20 minutes on the elliptical and 10 minutes of resistance band exercises. Wish I had longer to work out, but my bed felt way too good this morning, so I’m on a bit of a time crunch.

7:45 AM: Best part of my day- breakfast! Hit up the hotel breakfast buffet. Eat PB toast with banana (same pic as yesterday, I know)

Res. Inn breakfast

8:00 AM: Shower, make-up, get dressed, and all that fun stuff. I’ve decided showering and primping is the most annoying part of my day.

8:45 AM: Get in the car and navigate to my first high school.

8:53 AM: Sit in my car reading blogs because I’m way too early. I spend a lot of time sitting in parking lots on my phone.

9:10 AM: Head into the high school and greet the guidance counselor. Attempt to keep the attention of 40 high schoolers. Try to make presentation high-schooler friendly by throwing in words like “beach” and “super cool” every few minutes. Answer questions like “so how’s the food?”

Tina Fey is in a board room presenting in the movie. I’m usually in a cafeteria or an auditorium.

9:45-11:15 AM: Repeat first visit experience, but at another school.

11:00 AM: I have 3 1/2 hours until my next visit. Go to the mall. Eat Quiznos for lunch in the food court. Walk through Nordstrom and Lord and Taylor, buy nothing. Go to Old Navy and buy $6 tees instead.

2:30 PM: Time for my last visit of the day! Basically a repeat of the first two.

3:30 PM: Kids had tons of questions so my visit took forever! I think my voice is getting a little hoarse. I need fro-yo immediately.

IMG_2230

4:00 PM: Read emails and blogs in hotel room. Make notes on students I met that I liked. Enjoy the down time, because in just a short month, my day will look like this (accurate portrayal):

5:30 PM: Drive to another high school for a college night Q&A panel. Free dinner- score! Greedily eat the pasta, salad, garlic knots, and a brownie like it’s my job. No pics, cause that would have been really awkward.

6:30-8:00 PM: Speak with 4 other college reps in front of 200 people about my college, general admission stuff, and what NOT to write your essay on.

8:15 PM: Panel is technically over, but a line of students and parents form to ask me questions like, “so what’s your, like, absolute minimum GPA to get in?” (way to set the bar high, kid), “So, like, what’s the campus?” (I don’t even know what you’re asking me…) and “Can my son get a music scholarship if he’s not a music major?” (Um….no, he can’t)

9:15 PM: Back at my hotel. Wish I’d bought a bottle of wine for the room. Oh wait, I did πŸ™‚

IMG_2232

And that’s how college freshmen are recruited, my friends. In just a short while, we’ll have a ton of applications to read and review and my day will look completely different! In the meantime, I’m just happy to be out of the office and meeting the students that will hopefully be on our campus next year.

I’ve got another day of high school visits, so off I go. I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Where did you go to college?

What’s your favorite thing about your job?

21 thoughts on “Day in the Life: Admission Edition

  1. Your job sounds like so much fun! Haha I would love to travel around more for work. I can imagine dealing with high school students gets a bit tiring sometimes. I work in politics so my days are busy busy! But I love to get out and tour with my boss when I get the chance.

  2. Your job seriously sounds so fun and interesting- I would love to do something like that. How did you land it and is it something you thought you would be doing? What did you go to school for? It seems like you have a nice mix of traveling– not too much, but enough!

    • I love working in admission! I was a tour guide all 4 years of college so when I was in-between jobs about a year and a half after graduating I went back to visit and ask for some advice from my former boss. A few months later she called me about an opening and I went for it!

      My degree is in Communications, so super broad. I knew I wanted to work in an industry that worked with other people and involved public relations, public speaking and a varied schedule. I definitely ended up with a job that was perfect for me even though I’d never even thought of it when I was in college.

      If it sounds like something you’d like to do, higheredjobs.com is a great place to start. They list all the relevant jobs in higher ed! πŸ™‚

  3. Now that sounds like one hectic (but fun) day. Travelling to so many new places and meeting so many new people would be amazing, but I imagine it gets tiring as well. I wouldn’t say that I adore my job, but it gives me the option of doing a lot of work from home and I love the flexibility.

  4. You’re job sounds SO busy! People tend to think that traveling for work is fun, but it can be exhausting, especially if you have a family. I would love the traveling, but I wouldn’t want to leave my puppy behind.

  5. Haha love this post, great glimpse into your working day. I loved that music scholarship question too too funny and just plain dumb!

    I didn’t go to college or university properly until I was actually working full time, I dropped out after my first semester way back when, let it go and then realized later if I actually wanted a better job I’d have to go back. So I technically did it in Melbourne but did it all via correspondence whilst working full time too – fun times!

  6. Your job sounds like an absolute BLAST. Well done on controlling yourself with some of those answers- my friend had a similar position, and told me parents would try and bribe them…so funny.

    I’m in my final semester of uni now- Although I did a semester in New York as SUNY Oswego- loved it there!

  7. Your job sounds awesome! Seriously, I’m jealous of your mid day froyo breaks! πŸ™‚ And I work with students/parents too so I feel your pain. Sometimes I’m blown away by the stuff they will say to me!

  8. I love this post!! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚ And love those questions. You should probably keep track of all those questions that make you shake your head and say “seriously?” and do a whole post on them!! So funny.

  9. This was really interesting to read! I had no idea that you had to work such longs days. I would definitely need a glass of wine after that. But it sounds like very rewarding work and I like the idea of traveling to new places and meeting new students. I’m sure it keeps things from getting boring.

    I loved that movie Admissions too, it was so cute!

Leave a Reply

