Home » Food & Recipes » Taking It Easy

Taking It Easy

Good morning! I’m a little late with my morning post today because I had a bit of a late start to my day and it took me a solid 2 hours to get motivated out of bed. I spoke on a college panel last night in a town almost 2 hours away and decided not to spend the night up there. As a result, it was a long night for me driving up and back!

This morning I felt stuffy and had a headache. That plus being super tired, I just decided to lay in bed with the cat and watch Riley get ready for work. This is not a normal week-day activity for me, so Coco was all over the surprise snuggle time! Once Riley left I realized I was starving! I didn’t have much of a dinner last night except some granola bars and a banana before hitting the road.

Since I’m treating this morning like I have all the time in the world, I decided to make an egg white and veggie scramble for breakfast.

Veggie egg white scramble 1

I don’t really like plain eggs, so when I make them it’s a perfect chance to sneak some veggies in! No real measurements here, so use however much you like!

Veggie Egg White Scramble for One

Ingredients-

  • 3 egg whites
  • Chopped spinach, roughly 1 1/2 cups fresh
  • Portabella mushroom slices, diced
  • Yellow onion, diced
  • Cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Feta cheese (optional)

Heat a little light butter in a pan over medium heat and add onions and mushrooms. Once they’ve started to cook down, add the tomatoes and the spinach.

Pour the egg whites over the veggie mixtures and season with salt and pepper. Add the feta cheese (if using) and stir the mixture with a spatula until the egg whites are cooked through and scrambled with the veggies.

Serve with a slice of toast and enjoy!

Veggie egg white scramble 2

This is so easy to make and takes less than 10 minutes. This combination is my favorite, but I’ll also use whatever other veggies I have on hand if I’m trying to clean out the fridge.

Next up on my agenda is to do some yoga in my living room since I didn’t quite make it to the gym. I just found a website with free yoga videos called Do Yoga With Me. Have you heard of it? You probably have. I’m usually the last to hear about anything.

After yoga and a quick shower it’s off to work for the rest of the day. Hope you all have a great day!

How do you like to spend a free morning?

What’s your favorite way to make eggs?

18 thoughts on “Taking It Easy

  1. Free mornings are usually spent with a cup of coffee, some trashy TV, and following the interwebs wherever they take me. πŸ™‚ I like to make a similar scramble-haven’t thought to use feta in mine yet though! I’ll definitely add that next time. Enjoy your yoga-I think you might also like this app I found out about yesterday: 7 minutes. It’s the 7 minute workout and it changes every day!

  2. I am always suprised at how quick it is to make eggs – how do I always forget that!! I love mixing 1 egg with 2 egg whites scrambled with veggies and cheese. YUM!! And I always make extra because they reheat really well in the microwave for breakfast or lunch the next day.

  3. Calm mornings are amazing, but I’m sorry to hear yours was a result of not feeling too well — get better soon! I wake up ridiculously early enough so that most of my mornings usually end up being free ones. There’s nothing quite like starting things off slow and being able to enjoy breakfast, coffee, and blogging in peace before the day gets crazy.

  4. I dont like plain eggs either and usually have more veggies in the scramble than eggs! I am actually planning on having this for dinner tonight since Scott will be grabbing dinner out with a friend and it will be just me!

  5. I can’t believe you had to add the (optional) to the feta cheese… πŸ˜‰

    Favourite way to make eggs is in a scramble with cheese, spinach and milk and…eaten cold. Sounds so strange but its so good! I haven’t had a free morning for sometime, but having a more time consuming breakfast is always on the books!

Leave a Reply

