Home » Life » Weekend Recovery

Weekend Recovery

Oh, hey there! Sorry I missed you on Friday… I had great intentions to put up a post and well, you know how these things can get!

I feel like there’s a lot to catch up on! I’ll try to skim through the highlights, but let’s just roll through it, shall we? Get ready for a lot of pictures!

Friday

Actually, let’s not talk about Friday. Friday kicked my butt and is the reason you didn’t hear from me all day, so we’ll just fast-forward to Saturday!

Saturday

I worked Saturday morning at an event on campus, then booked it up to Richmond for a baby shower for my good friend and sorority sister, JaneBerry.

Kelly and JB1

JaneBerry is expecting in February and I’m so thrilled for her! We’ve been good friends for years and she has one of the best personalities and biggest hearts of anyone I know. She’s also fun to goof around with and always makes me laugh hysterically!

Kelly and JB2

Her baby shower was also a great reunion with some of my other favorite sorority sisters.

Molly and Kelly Collage

I was SO happy to see one of my other best friends from college, Molly, who blogs over at Still Being Molly. She just recently had her own little one and I was so excited she came up from NC for the shower!

Me with Molly and Lilly

Molly looked amazing (and also has a much better camera than me so I stole some photos!). Her little girl, Lilly, was a total star at the shower. Can’t get over her little facial expressions!

Lilly Collage

My best friend, Megan, also came down from D.C. to join us as well as a few other sisters. It was amazing to see so many of my favorite girls in one place, especially after basically being a social recluse for 6 weeks!

Phi Mu JB's Baby shower

The shower was gorgeously decorated with a cute elephant theme. The food hit the spot and I definitely went back for seconds of the mini sandwiches. I’m a sucker for anything served in a mini croissant!

JB's Baby Shower foodI had a great time reuniting with my favorite girls from college and seeing JaneBerry get ready to be a mother. She’s going to be an AMAZING mom!

Once I got home, Riley was already prepping dinner for us. He made steaks, homemade onion rings and a big salad.

Friday Dinner steak and salad

I’m constantly grateful to have a husband who cooks! It was nice to just put my feet up and relax after a long day.

Sunday

Riley and I stayed up late Saturday night drinking wine and hanging out at home, so it felt good to turn the clocks back an hour Sunday morning (thanks daylight savings!). We decided to skip the normal breakfast extravaganza at home and go out for breakfast instead.

A local restaurant called Food For Thought was serving breakfast, so we headed over there. I started my meal off with a freshly squeezed glass of juice that contained juice of beets, carrots, and apple.

Food for though juice

For my breakfast I chose scrambled eggs, home fries, turkey bacon, and multi-grain toast.

Food for though breakfast

Everything was so good! Riley shook his head at me because, per usual, I ate every last bit of the toast. I only got halfway through the rest of the food before getting full, however. Typical bread hog!

The rest of Sunday was spent at home. I got caught up on a lot of cleaning, made some homemade pumpkin bread, and had an impromptu visit from my sister, Casey, and my niece, Annabelle. It was so great to see them, even if only for a couple of hours!

Well, I think that gets us all caught up! Today starts another 6 day work week, but I’m hoping to take a better approach this week than last. In case you weren’t paying attention, I worked out a grand total of 3 days last week. THREE. My eating habits also took a bit of a beating and I ate lunch out almost every day last week, so I’m hoping to make some good changes starting today.

Morning Workout

This morning I got up at 4:30 and headed over to the gym right at opening time. I ran on the treadmill for 25 minutes while watching the morning news.

After my run, I grabbed a medicine ball and completed a 15 minute ab workout from the Nike Training Club app.

IMG_2387

My goal is to get back on track this week after last week’s indulgence. I’ll get into my plan a little bit more tomorrow so for now, have a great Monday!!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

How often do you get to see your old friends?

25 thoughts on “Weekend Recovery

  1. Seeing sorority sisters is the best! I moved to the other side of the country, so I only get to see my friends from high school/college about once or twice a year 😦 Your weekend sounds great! The highlight of my weekend was being able to sleep in on Sunday! I haven’t been able to sleep in on a weekend day in so long, it felt like such a treat!

  2. Babies!!! I’m a sucker for a baby but it’s a long way off for me so I spent my weekend babysitting my niece and nephew. My bestie lives in Ireland and it’s been a few months since I’ve seen her which sucks, but she’ll back in December and I cannot wait!

  3. Awe, all you girls are so pretty and Lilly is a cute pie! Looks like a great way to spend your Saturday!

    I’m guilty of filling up on bread before I finish my meal too. All the carbs please!! 😉

    The NTC app is killer. I often cheat when I use it, haha.

  4. Babies make me so happy. You can’t help but light up when you see them!

    Looks like you had an awesome weekend. I love getting together with old friends who I haven’t seen in awhile. We can’t let our bf’s come when we haven’t seen eachother in awhile because all we do is gossip!

  5. Haha, thats so funny how you ate all the bread first- If I got a plate like that It’d be the last in case I got full on the good stuff 😉

    Sounds like an awesome weekend- I always do that ab move called the ‘suitcase’ but never knew it was referred to as that- something new 😉

  6. oommggg it looks like you had a fantastic weekend!! and what sorority were you in?? i was a tridelt 🙂 i dont get to see my college friends nearly as often as i’d like. which reminds me, its time to plan another vacation:)

  7. Babies are just the cutest thing. If for some reason I don’t become fertile again to have children, I would love to adopt.Life is just better with a little one of your own 🙂 glad you had fun with all your girlfriends.

    Up until my unplanned trip to Hawaii 2 weeks ago it had been about a year & half since I’d seen my best friend. She’s in Hawaii & I’m in Kuwait – not the most ideal situation. It is what it is though. Thank goodness for technology.

  8. Love all the photos of you and your sorority sisters, sounds like you had a great time catching up with all of them.

    Sorry to hear how busy you have been. I have been having the same trouble with cooking dinner at home rather than lunches but have been trying to make a lot more of an effort too not always easy.

    That is funny that you are a bread hog! Is it because you don’t eat it enough at home or you just plain love it?

    I hope this weeks a little less busy for you! ❤

    • Yeah, last week was just one of those weeks where I needed to get out of the office and go somewhere good for lunch!

      I eat plenty of bread at home too, I just LOVE it! haha, it’s always my favorite part of the meal.

Leave a Reply

