Home » Daily food & workouts » Eating ALL the food: how to get back on track afterwards

Eating ALL the food: how to get back on track afterwards

Good morning! Yesterday kept me super busy all day and it felt so good to lounge by the fire when I got home. I made some orange chicken and vegetable rice from Trader Joe’s for dinner which was not really photo-ready, but I’m pretty sure you all know what chicken and rice looks like.

Not long after dinner I started nodding off in my chair, so I sent myself to bed early. As in, 8:30 PM early…..In my defense, my body probably still thought it was 9:30. Either way, I slept like. a. baby. It was awesome and I didn’t wake up once in the middle of the night.

Workout and Breakfast

This morning, I got up at 4:30 and headed over to the gym. I completed a 15 minute warm-up on the adaptive motion trainer, then grabbed a medicine ball and some dumbbells to do another Nike Training Club routine. This was a 30 minute routine called the Heartbreaker in the advanced section.

NTC workout

It was so fun! I loved that it changed every 30 seconds, so the time flew by. I cheated a bit with the pushups. I’m a bit of a weakling in the upper body area so full-on pushups are really hard for me after about 10. I modified that move a bit, but did the rest full-on.

After my workout, I stopped by my local rec center so I could VOTE! For my American friends reading, don’t forget to vote today! 🙂

Breakfast today was a Greek yogurt bowl topped with quinoa granola, honeycrisp apple and maple peanut butter. Delish!

maple yogurt bowl

I’m feeling a lot better now that I’m back into a healthier routine after last week. Which brings me to my next thoughts for the day….

How I get back on track after an “off” week

Ever had those weeks where things just keep slipping through the cracks? Workouts, healthy eating, proper sleep, you know what I’m talking about. Well, that was me last week! It takes a lot of effort to work out consistently, pack meals for work, and stay on top of your health/fitness goals. Last week I just didn’t have it in me. I wasn’t completely unhealthy, but I definitely slacked. I don’t regret it because I had a lot of other things that needed my focus.

There’s a common misconception that a week or a few days of “bad” choices will ruin all your efforts to stay healthy. Not true! Months of bad choices? Yes, you will start to see some negative changes. But a few days isn’t going to kill you. Seriously. I promise, you’ll be fine. I had Mexican (chips basket and all), Chinese food (yes, I ate the egg roll) and pizza (well, pizza’s a given). Guess what? I didn’t gain 5 pounds. At least I don’t think I did.

I’m glad I took a few days to sleep in instead of go to the gym because I’m pretty sure I needed the extra rest. This week, however, I wanted to take a different approach. I’ve outlined a couple of goals I have to get things back on track.

Getting Back On Track

1) Get back to regular workouts. It’s been a while since I took more rest days than workout days! I spent a lot of time walking on those days, but I definitely benefit from having that sweaty workout to start my day on a good note.

2) Make one healthy adjustment at each meal. Just because you went a little too far in one direction does not mean you need to haul ass in the other direction to make up for it. Yes, I ate stuffed crust pizza, too much wine, and carb loaded like I was running a marathon. Doesn’t mean it’s smart for me to live off celery sticks to make up for it! Small tweaks at meal time will help get you back in that wonderful state called “balance.”

3) Don’t forget to pack healthy snacks! I’m pretty sure one of the reasons I made some poor choices last week is that I was soooo hungry. I was too busy to pack snacks so as a result, I ate just about anything that was put in front of me.

Those are really my only major goals! I’m a firm believer in focusing on a few key things you know you can handle rather than overwhelming yourself with a giant list of requirements.

Now that I’ve got lunch (and some snacks) packed, I’m off to work.  I hope you all have a great day!!

How do you get back on track after an “off” week?

Do you weigh yourself? I have a scale and I’ll hop on every couple of weeks just to check in. I don’t really pay that much attention to it, however. I’m pretty in tune with my body so I can usually tell when I need to scale back on the pizza and chocolate a little bit.

14 thoughts on “Eating ALL the food: how to get back on track afterwards

  1. Nope definitely don’t weight myself. At least not in the last couple of years (except at the doctor’s office). To be honest, I think having an “off” week is all part of a healthy lifestyle. It’s usually just your body telling you to slow down. So for me I just listen to it, give it what it wants and then when the motivation returns to get back on track, I do. Trust your body to know what it wants 🙂

  2. No scales here! Like you said, I feel like I’m pretty good at picking up what my body is saying, so I know more or less how I’m doing without needing a number to tell me. I get weighed when I go to the doctor, but that’s pretty much it. And when it comes to getting back on track, I just focus on making better choices and avoiding anything drastic… there’s nothing worse than jumping from one extreme to the other.

  3. Whenever I “carb load like I am running a marathon” (which always happens on weekends for some reason) my body definitely feels it…but i find just going for a simple walk even helps! And agree with healthy snacks– its so important to plan ahead!

  4. These are great tips and you’re right, a few days of not working out or eating fattening food isn’t going to ruin anything. Actually, I think allowing yourself the freedom to relax is necessary to maintain a healthy lifestyle. I think sometimes people fall off track and never get back on because they think it’s too late.

    I’ve never owned a scale and I rarely ever weigh myself. I think it’s most important to focus on how you feel!

    • I agree- I know way too many people who have a bad week or a few days and just throw in the towel! My scale is super old and I know it’s not accurate. I have a specific pair of non-stretchy dress pants that are really good at telling me where I’m at so I just make sure to wear those every now and then!

  5. I don’t weigh myself at all anymore since starting Intuitive Eating as it just messes with my head too much, since depending on what the number says it can change my whole mood so I’m better off just not knowing.

    I love all of your tips and just your whole attitude to keeping healthy and not stressing about having a week where it doesn’t all come together. I need to get better at packing more snacks or at least more interesting snacks.

  6. Girl I thought I was doing good waking up at 5am and you go and show me up with a 4:30 wake- up call! I don’t weight myself because it gives me too much anxiety. I always know when I lose or gain a few lbs anyways and that is enough to get my butt back on a healthy routine.

  7. Ummm…I may have eaten pizza the last 3 days for dinner. I’m a mess right now! But I’m going to get it together starting today so that I don’t do any damage. I’ve been stressed about work which is causing me to spend every night moping on the couch, but tonight I have a workout planned. I just feel better when I work out and eat better!

    • Girl, I know exactly how you feel! Pizza looks better and better every minute when I’m stressed with work. I always feel better after working out too, but nothing wrong with throwing yourself a little stressed out pizza party every now and then. Hope things calm down for you at work soon!

Leave a Reply

