Home » Daily food & workouts » Getting a late start

Getting a late start

Good morning! I did something glorious for a weekday. I slept in! Well, I tried to get up early twice, but for some reason I was just way too tired. I made the executive decision that today would be a rest day from the gym and that I was going into work late. It’s pretty rare that I actually get to enjoy the sun coming up in the morning, but I felt like I needed it today!

Sunny clouds

My mornings are usually so rushed: get up in the  dark, go to the gym, come home in the dark, get ready in the dark, hurry up and make breakfast, blog, then rush to work. If I’m not ten minutes early to work I feel late. It’s craziness! Since I was pooped this morning, I decided to take my time. One hour late to work isn’t going to make the place crumble.

Last night Riley and I went on a little date night. We went to one of my favorite restaurants, Baker’s Crust, in Williamsburg for a quick dinner. I got a fennel sausage, goat cheese, and onion pizza and it was delicious. I know Riley will enjoy all the leftovers!

Baker's Crust pizza

After dinner we went to see Gravity, finally. We wanted to get to it before it left the theaters and our local movie theater has cheaper tickets on Tuesdays. It was awesome! I can definitely see why you need to see it in the theater because the visuals are really what make the movie interesting.

This morning I enjoyed not being up crazy early and took my time getting up. Breakfast today was a slice of homemade pumpkin bread that I made on Sunday (recipe here), a PB granola bar and a glass of unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Pumpkin Bread

Granola bar and almond milk

After eating, I leashed Bella up and took her for a 20 minute walk. Since it’s a no-workout day I’m going to try and squeeze in as much walking as I can. The weather was crisp and cool and it felt great to be outside!

Fall trees

I know Bella loved getting a morning walk with me, too. It’s not something she usually gets on weekday mornings!

Fall walk with Bella

Now I’m off to get ready for work! Maybe to make this morning extra awesome I’ll stop at Starbucks for a latte on my way 🙂

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Do you plan your rest days for the week? I usually don’t because I never know when I might wake up exhausted, like I did today. I like having the flexibility to take my rest days based on how I feel.

16 thoughts on “Getting a late start

  1. I -love- relaxed mornings. I think that part of the reason my brain wakes me up so early is so that I can start the day off calmly, without feeling too rushed. I used to try and start my days with workouts, but I’ve given that up in favour of a little downtime and switched them to the later morning instead.

  2. I think a rushed morning is one of my biggest pet peeves- I like to get a workout in first thing then take my time at home before rushing out!

    I love the look of that pizza and that pumpkin bread- nothing beats classic butter on top of bread. (I’m guessing thats butter lol!)

  3. I cannot wait to sleep in, which won’t be until Saturday…but I am still excited! I know what you mean about feeling late to work– I am like that too! And I never plan for rest days…just take them as needed!

  4. That pizza looks amazing!!

    I usually try and plan my rest days so I know what I am doing and when but I am not afraid to move them around or take extra rest days when I’m sick or really tired. I also have sometimes move my workout from the morning to the afternoon after work if I know I need the extra sleep. I don’t love working out after work but sometimes extra sleep wins out! 🙂

    Glad you finally got to see Gravity.

    • If I’m tired I get super cranky, so sleep usually wins out for me too! The only thing I never want to do is work out after work. I tried that for a while, but felt like my whole day was gone. I’m way too addicted to my pet snugglin’ time at night!

Leave a Reply

