Home » Animals » Staying Warm

Staying Warm

Good morning! It’s getting cold around here and I’m not a fan. The forecast said we might get a “wintry mix” this afternoon….I’m not a fan. I’m pretty sure I was meant to live in a climate that’s 70 and sunny all year round. Where can I go to get that?

The upside to it getting cold is that we get to have the fireplace on! I love how cozy the house feels with a fire. Coco is also a major fan. She likes to sleep so close to the fire that I worry her fur is going to singe off!

Coco and fire

Last night it was nice to just relax in the living room with Riley and the pets. He cleaned the house and made a delicious turkey bolognese sauce to put over pasta.

Turkey meat sauce

I watched some Scandal on Netflix before turning in early. I was wiped from the day and fell asleep in no time! Crazy exciting, right? I lead a thrilling life. You never know what’s gonna happen next! Actually, you probably do…

Workout & Breakfast!

This morning I hit the gym right at opening time and started my workout with a 30 minute run on the treadmill. I like doing my cardio first thing so I can watch the morning news while I work out. I’ve heard conflicting ideas on whether you should do cardio or strength first, but if I don’t get sweaty first thing I’ll never get my motivation up!

After my run I grabbed an 8 lb medicine ball and went through a quick round of my 10 minute abs workout before stretching.

10 minute abs

Breakfast today is ezekiel toast with peanut butter and banana slices. A good standby that never gets old!

toast with PB and banana

I’m off to work for now, but to kick off your day, here are a few awesome dog articles that you must look at. A little fact about me- I don’t get emotional about very many things, but dog stuff KILLS me. I can’t watch those SPCA commercials without wanting to cry, I refuse to watch movies like Marley and Me, and I want to adopt every homeless dog I meet. I think everyone should have a dog in their life, so enjoy these articles and have a great day!

What do you do first, cardio or strength?

When do you turn on the heat/fireplace? I like it as warm as I can get it, so as early as possible!

23 thoughts on “Staying Warm

  1. My kitten is totally not a fan of all this cold weather. When I come home, I can usually find Layla curled up under the mountain of blankets on my bed or in the coat closet, nestled into all my winter jackets. Because she’s adorable, she gets away with murder.

  2. I’m with you on absolutely hating the cold — I’ve had my heat on for a couple of weeks now for that very reason. It’s kind of funny because I snowboard, so I’m out in the cold a lot during the winter months, but when I’m at home? I like to be warm and toasty, thank.you.very.much.

  3. That is an awesome Ab workout! I am not particular – sometimes cardio then strength, sometimes I switch it around…but I sure am particular bout being warm! While I can go with hardly any or no ac in the summer, I NEED my heater in the winter – er or fall!

  4. One of my lifelong dreams is to own a place with a fireplace- no joke. I’m envious of you haha!

    I always strength train first, and then cool down at the end on the bike…and by cool down I mean check twitter and instagram. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I am so in love with Coco. How cute is she by the fire?! We need to get some fire wood to get ours going soon.

    And girl, I am right there with you on the emotional feelings with dogs. It’s like a knife straight to the heart whenever I see a sad story. I will check out those stories, thanks for sharing! I’m always interested in learning new things about dogs and seeing touching stories. I know I’m going to cry!

    • Sooo glad I’m not the only one. I don’t get emotional about any of those other sad stories that are supposed to get to you, but the second I hear a sad dog story? I lose it! Luckily the ones I shared are happy stories!

  6. I usually do cardio first and the strength but most days my split is either a cardio or a strength day not both together.

    I so prefer warm weather too! The cold is nice if you donโ€™t have to go out and about, which both of us as working girls have to. Iโ€™ve just started watching Scandal too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I feel like even when I do more strength I still have to do some cardio. I should make time to focus just on strength every now and then.

      So true about working when it’s cold, I hate de-frosting the car super early in the morning!

  7. I am so jealous of your fireplace! It’s on my wish list for when we buy our first house. I love my comforter though – I bought it at Ikea and I think it’s the warmest option you can get. It keeps me warm in our perpetually chilly bedroom!

Leave a Reply

