Home » Daily food & workouts » A day of shopping and leftovers

A day of shopping and leftovers

Good morning everyone! Do you know what day it is? It’s crazy-shoppers-gone-mad day, aka Black Friday. It’s a day where we Americans forget all about being thankful for simple pleasures like family and friends. Instead, we turn our attention to consumerism and a frantic need to elbow strangers out of our way so we can buy stuff. Yay, stuff!!!

I won’t pretend I have no plans to shop today, because I do. I’m a sucker for a good deal! I just don’t last very long out there because it’s almost like a war zone. I live across from an outlet mall that’s had orange parking cones out for 24 hours in anticipation of the crowds. They’ve been busing people in since midnight and it’ll take me 10 minutes to get out of my own neighborhood.

I’m trying to time my brief shopping trip to land right between the two biggest waves of shoppers. I’ve found between 7:30-10:30 AM it’s actually relatively safe, so here goes nothing!

Thanksgiving Recap

My Thanksgiving celebrations started on Wednesday night when Riley and I went out for a few beers and dinner. We went to a local Williamsburg place called Paul’s Deli, which is a big favorite of the college kids. Riley worked there in college and used to have his picture up on the big wall with Donovan McNabb!

Paul's Deli wall

Every Wednesday at Paul’s they have Corona night, where Coronas are only $1. The place was packed, so we enjoyed a few beers before our dinner arrived. I had a roast beef sub with peppers and onions and it was freakin’ amazing.

Paul's Deli collage

Thanksgiving morning was spent by the fire watching the Macy’s parade on tv, drinking coffee, and having some breakfast. Coco is also a huge fan of lazy mornings. Her bald little belly kills me!

IMG_2578

After the parade I headed out for a 4.5 mile run. I’m not a fan of running outside in the cold, but my gym was closed and I didn’t feel like getting creative. I ran pretty slowly because it was 39 degrees and windy out, but I was glad I got in a workout before all the food!

The rest of the day Riley and I visited his grandparents, then went to his dad’s house for dinner. I took a picture of my meal, but for some reason it never showed up on my phone. Fail. Sorry, guys….luckily, you’ll probably have a million other pictures of bloggers’ Thanksgiving meals to look at. I’ll paint a picture with my words for you, though: I piled up my plate with turkey, stuffing, corn, yams, and mashed potatoes. And that’s it. I’m a total wuss at Thanksgiving. I get all excited about the food, then I’m full after one normal-sized plate. Oh well, luckily we took home a lot of leftovers for the weekend!

As far as dessert goes, I didn’t have any pie, but I did dig in to the banana pudding made by Riley’s grandma. His grandma makes the best banana pudding I’ve ever had. Again, no pictures because Riley and I destroyed the pudding over the kitchen counter at home. We also have some pie leftovers in the fridge that I’m sure I’ll break into later today.

After getting home, we went to give the pets their special Thanksgiving meal (i.e. canned food), but Bella had already set aside her own snack.

Bella's snack

Anyone else have a dog that likes to stash snacks on the other side of the house from her bowl? She’s such a weirdo.

Well, that’s my Thanksgiving in a nutshell. I apologize for the lack of family or food pics. I didn’t really pull the phone out much when we were with Riley’s family, but I promise I did eat some good food!

Off I go to hit the stores for a while and probably hit the gym later. Cross your fingers I don’t get trampled!

Are you shopping on Black Friday?

What was the best part of your Thanksgiving?

19 thoughts on “A day of shopping and leftovers

  1. Haha I did my black friday shopping online πŸ˜‰ MUCH less stressful! (Plus, the J Crew Outlet had 50% off AND Free Shipping! woohoo!) hehe

    Best part of Thanksgiving has been just relaxing with family!

  2. Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving! You should get that banana pudding recipe from Riley’s grandma. I love banana pudding.

    That’s so funny that Bella does that! No, I’ve never had a dog do that. They usually swallow it before they can even enjoy the taste, better yet save it for later.

    • I’m definitely making it my mission to find out what’s in that stuff, cause it’s amazing.

      Maybe Bella’s just a weird dog, haha. She also picks up bites of food in her mouth and brings it to the living room to eat so she can be with us.

  3. Excuse my fried brain but I spent a good 2 minutes trying to find you in that crowded picture lol…

    SO GLAD YOU DIDN’T EAT BREAD. Sorry for shouting. I just had to get over my shock. Pies are overestimated- banana pudding sounds awesome!

    Hope you scored some good bargains too- how lucky to live across the road!

  4. No need to apologize for the lack of photos, girl. Thanksgiving is about enjoying each others company & giving thanks.. which it sounds like you did πŸ™‚

    Ha Ha, your dog is adorable. Roxy used to do something similar, but has since been trained to only eat in the kitchen. I hated finding crumbs throughout our home.

    Have a lovely weekend
    ❀

  5. We did go shopping, arrived in town maybe at 7am? only to discover that Black Friday is now on THURSDAY and they were out of the only thing we came to buy. Sigh.

    One Walmart employee we talked to said it was the worst she’d seen in five years with pushing and shoving. Most people went on Thanksgiving night. Crazy! At some point the shopping frenzy is going to just be all week, but they we can wander in at our leisure, I guess.

  6. Your pets are so damn cute!! My parents jack Russell has these dog biscuits shaped like a bone which are a treat but she stockpiles them in her bed too, like she’s saving them for winter or something πŸ˜‰

    Hope you get some amazing deals shopping up a storm!

    Have a great weekend lady πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

