Home » Food & Recipes » Leftover turkey power salad

Leftover turkey power salad

Happy Monday, everyone! I’m weirdly excited to get back to work today after 5 days off. I think I have a problem. I spent the rest of my super long weekend sleeping in, going to the gym, taking Bella on walks, drinking wine, doing some household chores (we got the hot tub running again!), and watching Netflix. It was pretty fabulous!

To get back on track food-wise after a weekend of indulgence, I wanted to share a recipe with you to use of some of that leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Power salad 3

I loved this salad because it filled me up and had a great combination of flavors. It was also a great way to use the extra turkey I had on hand! I’m estimating most of the ingredients, but you could eyeball most of it to your taste.

Turkey Power Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 ounces turkey breast meat
  • Mixed greens
  • 1/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons dried cranberries
  • 1/3 chopped red onion and mushrooms
  • 1 ounce crumbled goat cheese

Cook the quinoa in boiling water for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, saute onion and mushrooms in a little bit of olive oil over medium heat until soft. Remove onion and mushrooms from the pan and throw the turkey in to heat for 2-3 minutes. Assemble the salad and top with dressing of your choice. I used a Greek style feta dressing from Trader Joe’s.

Turkey power salad 1

Seriously, so good! If you’re not a fan of goat cheese I’d recommend using feta cheese instead. I called this a power salad because it’s packed with nutrition and makes for a really well-rounded meal.

Turkey power salad 2

I made a lot of extra quinoa so I’m hoping to make this salad again this week. This kind of salad is a great way to get back on track and get some nutrition after lots of celebrating. Considering how much food there was, I actually ate surprisingly healthy most of the weekend, unless you count all the wine. Which, of course, I don’t.

I’m off to the office for the day and have a lot of work to catch up on. Hope you all have a great day!

How was your weekend?

What’s your favorite way to use leftover turkey?

17 thoughts on “Leftover turkey power salad

  1. I had a great weekend at my parents relaxing and getting to cook was wonderful! I love turkey! So I just get some roasted Veggies and eat my turkey just plain sprinkled with some nutritional yeast yum yum yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yum this looks so so good!! Shame I canโ€™t eat Quinoa but I could probably sub in barley or brown rice instead.

    I like turkey sandwiches with cranberry to use up leftover turkey but usually Iโ€™ve not been the one to cook a turkey myself at Christmas so donโ€™t have the leftovers.

  3. The salad looks very healthy. The only meat I eat is fish, so I’d either make it with canned or smoked salmon or with some garbanzo beans sprinkled on for protein. My weekend was great, I took a several day long break from my exercise (figure skating). Unfortunately my body actually needs more of a break, my knees are still pretty bad now that I am skating again. Breaks can be good!

  4. How funny is that- we crave time off, and then after a while- look forward to work again! It balances out I guess.

    That salad looks so good- who would have thought to add quinoa AND crumbled goats cheese.

    Here leftover roasted meat is usually used in sandwiches or rolls. How creative.

Leave a Reply

